? Fur Shots

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by jacereske, Nov 29, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jacereske

jacereske Member

I've been giving insulin shots for 3 years, but lately I seem to be giving a lot of fur shots and I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.

I give them in the scruff.

I make the tent like I always have and I feel the needle go in, then I inject and I wait 10 seconds after the injection to pull it out. But sometimes when I lightly stroke the fur I feel liquid and I know it's the insulin, because I check the fur before the shot and it's dry.

I can't tell that I'm doing anything differently, but I must be and I'm perplexed.

Any suggestions?

thanks,
    Jeanette

2. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

Insulin has a distinct odour so I suggest smelling the fur at the injection site to be sure. Do your kitty's BG numbers show that a shot has been missed, ie., a fur shot?

jacereske likes this.
  3. Lisa and Smoky

Lisa and Smoky Well-Known Member

I always heard that you should rotate areas that you give the shots in. Is it possible that has something to do with it?

4. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

Good point. Have you tried shooting along his sides in loose skin to see if there's a difference?

jacereske likes this.
  5. jacereske

jacereske Member

I can't say I have noticed the odor.
    She is still not regulated and her numbers vary a lot, so it's hard to tell. But yes I think so. On Sunday night I felt liquid and Monday morning her BG was 545.

6. jacereske

jacereske Member

No I have not tried that.

7. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

I gave up on the "tent method" ......now I do it differently

I grab some fur between my thumb and forefinger and then "roll" my wrist to pull the skin away from the muscle/fat layer.....where the fur "breaks", I can see skin and that's where I shoot