Glen's mom

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Islandmomma, Dec 25, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Islandmomma

Islandmomma Member

My almost 12 year old was just diagnosed. I am so mad at myself for not spotting the sign s sooner :banghead:
    Glen is a big boy at 7.3kg. He has lost a bit of wait over the last couple of weeks. He has started on 2 u if lantus twice a day. We just started on Thursday. I'm a nurse so not having too many issues with glucose monitoring or giving him his insulin. Yesterday he didn't eat that much and his BG was 3.1 at one reading. I cut his evening and morning insulin in 1/2 (as the vet told me if he didn't eat very much) but today he had a reading of 20.4 about 2.5 hours after injection.

I've gone ahead and given him the full dose tonight so hoping he stabilizes tomorrow.

I am only feeding Glen wet food. Interestingly he quit kibble himself a few days ago. Not too sure what that is all about.

Anyways,I just wanted to say hi from British Columbia, Canada :cat:

I am really enjoying all the info available on this forum...

Tammy

2. MrWorfMen's Mom

MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

Hi Tammy and Glen and welcome to FDMB from a fellow Canadian and fellow nurse (albeit retired) in Ontario.:) You've come to the right place for all the help you need to get Glen on the road to regulation and with a bit of luck maybe remission. The amount of knowledge for all things feline on this board is nothing short of amazing and it's a very friendly community.

Like you I kicked myself for not noticing the signs soon enough too. The signs are often subtle and difficult to spot when you are with kitty everyday and even more so in a multi cat household. The signs sneak up on you until one day it becomes clear there is a problem.