Glucometers

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by spacey, Aug 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spacey

spacey Member

What is the best glucometer to use for my cat? I am new at this, and did the ear-sticks for the first time last night. I have a Truetrack that my daughter used, but the strips seem like they need a lot of blood. I ended up having to freehand stick, and had to stick my poor cat about 5 times and finally got a good drop, but I hated doing that. Then the meter went off. ugh. What I would like is a good meter that gives accurate readings with the least amount of blood. I would be greatful for any suggestions.

2. tuckers mom

tuckers mom Well-Known Member

I haven't tried them all (at least not yet :roll: ) but in my opinion the Accu Check Aviva sips the blood the best and uses a very small amount of blood. It's probably my favorite.

If cost of strips are an issue you can buy strips on line at eBay just make sure the seller is reputable.

Also, the Wal-mart Relion uses a small amount of blood and the test strips are very cheap at the store. We recently switched over to that.

Others will be able to tell you which meter they prefer. It's great that you're going to be hometesting. That and diet are the best things you can do for your kitty.

3. Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA

Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA Well-Known Member

I started with the TrueTrack and had the same problems that you are mentioning.

Since I don't shop at Walmart, I checked out www.hocks.com (click the link above left, and FDMB gets a commission for your purchase)

I bought the Maxima AST and LOVE it.

it requires 0.5 microliter of blood (half the size that TrueTrack requires)
    and test strips cost $16.50 per 50ct. Hocks used to give a cost break for buying 3+ or 6+ at a time, but seems to be one price now.

I have only seen this meter at www.hocks.com -- never in a store, so I have to order a week before I run out.