Glucose Meter

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Ann & Maggie11 (GA), Jan 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi,
    I just found this message board and am so happy to have some info and support. My cat, Maggie, was just diagnosed with diabetes mellitus January 5, so I am a newbie to all of this and anxious to learn how to care for her. I've had limited contact with her Vet since the day after her diagnosis he was gone for 10 days, so mostly I've been talking to his Vet techs. Her glucose was 421 when she was first tested, and after a week of 2 units every 12 days, her glucose was 126 (2 days ago). My instructions so far are to bring her in weekly for glucose tests, but I really want to get started using a glucometer. I read somewhere on the site about Freestyle meters. There is a website http://www.animaldiabetes.com where an animal glucometer is being sold. It sounds from as much as I have read that the Free Style human one would be sufficient, right! I hesitate buying the one on line, as then I will need to buy the test strips online also. Has anyone heard about this one on animaldiabetes.com? Also, 1-800petmeds sells a pet glucometer. I need a meter right away as I may have to make a quick trip to my Mom's home, and if I get a cat sitter I want her to have a meter. Thanks in advance for any help.

2. Ronnie & Luna

Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

Hi

welcome to the FDMB

just passing by and thought I'd give u this link on human meter comparison's from Consumer Reports.

http://docs.google.com/View?docID=dd5ck ... on=_latest

The AlphTrak is quite pricey as are the strips, and typically only available at at vet's offices.

Are u located in the U.S?
    I highly recommend the Relion meters sold at U.S Walmarts.
    Many here use this one as it it reliable and inexpensive for strips.