Got my testing supplies today!!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Candy&Company, Sep 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Candy&Company

Candy&Company Member

I finally managed to make it to Walmart with my list and hit the aisles!

They didn't have everything I was hoping for, so I got what I could - list is below.

1.) They had a TON of Relion Prime meters and supplies but since I'm brand new to all of this I didn't want a meter that took a bigger blood sample so though it killed me, I turned away.

2.) They had only 1 Relion Confirm, the box was beat up and FULLY OPENED (seal broken plus whole side of box was ripped open) - and 1 Relion Micro, box was a bit roughed up but it was still sealed and looked worlds better than the Confirm box. I asked some staff if they had anymore of either one in the back, etc. but they said no - what's out is "out".

I got the Micro. Once I got home, I also called to order control solution just in case.

3.) They had only 3 boxes of 50count strips, and only 2 boxes of 100count - so I got the 2 100 boxes. I'm kinda kicking myself thinking I should've just cleaned them out since they seem really popular. :nailbiting:

4.) Lancets - good lord, the selection sucked. All super thin gauge needles but I spied FreeStyle brand and saw they had 28 gauge so I bought 2 boxes (100count each) remembering how some users here freehand their sticks.

---I also got a freehand lancing device (which accepts the 28g Freestyle), a 2-in-1 single-use lancing devices box (50count, 25g). Wasn't sure what method would work best, so I splurged a little.

5.) Ketone strips - they only had the ones in the bottle, not foil wrapped, so I got 2 50count bottles. I don't think a shallow, long spoon will work for Fena (but maybe it will) so I'll probably be investing in more plastic/cling wrap in the future just in case - I have a full roll of it.