Grey 2/12/2019 PMPS 137 do I give him his insulin?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by kurikitty, Feb 12, 2019.

  1. kurikitty

    kurikitty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    It is crazy to me how much my cats blood glucose is fluctuating. This morning it was 346 then +2 287 now its 137. Do I still give him his nightly insulin? I give him 0.5u currently and this is his 4th day on it.
     
  2. kurikitty

    kurikitty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Anyone? :( Not sure what to do and I have to sleep soon.
     
  3. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Hi there, since Grey is so new to insulin, it is wise to skip the shot tonight.
    Anything under 200 is risky at this point because you don't yet have much testing data to see how he might react
     
  4. kurikitty

    kurikitty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Ok, thank you for the peace of mind that what I'm doing is correct. :) Night.
     
  5. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Try not to worry. It looks like Grey is starting to respond to the Lantus. I'm glad you started on 0.5u and are home testing.
    Tomorrow morning his BG may be elevated again from the skipped shot tonight, but again, that would be normal. Stick with your same dose and remember about the "no shot under 200" for now.
     

Share This Page