Hello everyone

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Pita's Mom, Jan 22, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pita's Mom

Pita's Mom New Member

. I am very new to using forums and having a little trouble. I am sure I will get it figured out. I am retired and living on a small government pension. I have been debating having Pita put down because it is costing a lot of money taking her to vet and she is getting much sicker not better. I have 4 cats thankfully the other 3 are healthy. They are all rescue cats. When Pita was first diagnosed with diabetes she had lost weight, her fur is greasy and has dandruff. She drinks large quantities of water and of course eliminates large quantities of urine. I should also mention I am caring for a very ill husband. So I am not sure how much time I can devote to Pita. I have read posts about testing at home. Before I purchase supplies for this I will need to know how to test. image.jpg This is Pita. She has a bloated tummy and her hind quarters are shrunken.

2. Larry and Kitties

Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

Welcome.

For your first question:
    Here is a link to home testing blood sugarshttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287

Many here use the WalMart ReliOn Confirm or Confirm Micro, Very reasonable priced, especially the test strips

Good insulin are the human Lantus and Levemir and the pet insulins ProZinc and BCP PZI. For those two human insulin it is best to get the 5 pack of 3 ml disposable pens via a 10 ml vial. Although per ml the vial is less expensive most cats will not use up a 10 ml vial before the insulin goes bad/becomes ineffective. The human insulin N/NPH is sometimes prescribed but only lasts 8-10 hours. Same for the pet insulin Vetsulin/Caninisulin.