Hello everyone!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Lyndsey, Feb 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lyndsey

Lyndsey New Member

Hello!

I am new to the world of cat diabetes.

My baby boy Jango (2) was diagnosed Monday after experiencing major complications from undiagnosed diabetes.

I rushed him to the vet after he started to vomit and wasnt using his litter box. He was trying to go and nothing was happening. My other male cat, Pancake, was blocked just before Christmas and I thought it was the same issue.

Turns out he had an impacted bowel, his sugar was over 500, and he had diabetic kedoacodosis!

After 3 days at the vet and another hefty vet bill later (still trying to pay the bill from my blocked cat) he is home.

Currently he gets Novalin N 2x a day. We aren't testing his sugar yet, and the vet didn't want to change his diet yet. He gets 1/2 can wet food in the a.m. and 1/2 in the p.m. with dry food since I have 2 other cats. I don't know how on earth I will be able to feed (or afford to feed) 2 cats prescription foods while one gets normal food while managing to keep all 3 away from each others meals!

I'm nervous to start this new adventure and any advice would be fantastic!

2. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

Welcome! This is our meet and greet forum so please go repost on the main health forum and we can get started. :)

3. Sylvie

Sylvie Member