Hello from me and my 3 Amigos!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Elizabeth Mc, May 16, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Elizabeth Mc

Elizabeth Mc New Member

Hello all. I am new to the forums having just received a diagnosis last week that my kitty boy Jack is diabetic at the age of 12. I also have a 2 year old named Felix and my Son and his kitty Ragnar, who is also 2, live at my house.

I am very very brand new to all of this and have much to learn. I just wanted to introduce myself and my brood and say thank you in advance for all the wonderful information you all have taken the time to share here. I am grateful to not feel so alone while in this steep learning curve.

Elizabeth

2. DebG

DebG Well-Known Member

Welcome !
    I am not able to give dosing advice as I am fairly new.
    Are you currently giving insulin?
    If so are you home testing?
    What kind of food are you feeding?
    Also if you set up a Spread Sheet those with more experience will be able to give you guidance.

Sarah Smith and Elizabeth Mc like this.
  3. Walker

Walker New Member

Hi Elizabeth. I also have a 12 year old boy just diagnosed.

You aren't alone on the learning curve.:)

Elizabeth Mc and DebG like this.
  4. Elizabeth Mc

Elizabeth Mc New Member

DebG - He is receiving 1 unit twice a day and we go back in Thursday for testing. I will be doing home testing and am researching which unit I want to buy. Right now he is eating the canned DM food the vet sent us home with, and we also got a bag of dry DM. I feel fortunate that he is not an overly picky kitty and he seems to be rolling with the punches of what I am feeding him quite well. I will be setting up a spreadsheet once I have some data on the regular. Much to learn, that is for sure! :)

5. Sarah Smith

Sarah Smith Member

Welcome Elizabeth to you and your crew :)

6. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Welcome to the message board, the best place you never wanted to be.