Hello! Just switched to Lantus!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erika&Harrycat

Member Since 2015
Hi everybody!

Just switched from Novolin to Lantus. I haven't given him his first injection with it yet. I'm waiting until 6pm.
I'm starting at 1unit. His numbers are pretty good today after hypo numbers last night. I haven't had to give him an injections since 10pm last night.
Thinking about doing the Tight regulation with him and eventually going to start using the pens. Right now I just got the vial of U-100.
Wanted to introduce myself and I'm excited to be here!
Any advice and suggestions on getting update on all this incredible would be fantastic. I read all the stickys but just in case I missed something would be great to hear from you.

Thanks!
Erika & Harry
 
Hi Erika and headbutts Harry! Nice to see you here and glad Harry's changing to Lantus. Just noodle around and ask questions as you come across them. One thing you need to remember and not get discouraged over - Lantus works very differently than the Novolin N so it will take a few days to really start seeing a lot of effect of the change. The first few shots will establish the storage 'depot', very little will go to actual use. With Novolin N, it was given, it worked then it was done and gone....

HUGS!
 
Lyresa is right -- Lantus is very different than Novolin. We base dose changes on the nadir (lowest point in the cycle) and not on the pre-shot. However, with the pre-shot numbers you saw last night, it would not have been safe to shoot no matter which insulin you were using.

Were you shooting 3 times a day with Novolin? If that's the case, it looks like Harry was getting 7.5u of insulin per day. Dropping the dose back to 2u per day may make quite a difference in his numbers.

Since you've a chance to begin to familiarize yourself with the sticky notes at the top of the board are there any specific questions you have? There's an overwhelming amount of information to absorb so please don't hesitate to ask questions.

 
Hello and thank you!

Yes quite a bit of information to absorb, indeed! Since I'm starting from the beginning I guess my worry is trying to keep track of each new cycle that is in the depot. My friend Cindi mentioned that the tight method is a lot easier than the slow and go because you already know what to shoot when you get a test number. Is that info located somewhere? And when do I start a new thread to track his numbers everyday. That's a little bit confusing but I want to learn how. :)
Thank you for being so sweet!

@Sienne and Gabby
 
Hi - I would color a row in on your spreadsheet to demarcate when you switched to Lantus (see Hyde's sheet mid July when we switched from ProZinc to Lantus).

You might as well start posting daily when you make the switch. When you have updates during the day, you can click the Thread Tools button at the top of your thread and it will give you the option to edit your subject line. There are also 3 icons you can choose from. Use the 911 when you have an emergency and the ? when you have a question that you would like to have answered. The third is GA and we really don't want to use that one :eek::eek:

Tight Regulation requires pretty strict timing and that you only feed wet food. That does not work in my household so we are doing SLGS. You should put which protocol you are following and the current dose in your signature. You can edit that at any time too.
 
The info on the TR Protocol is in this link. I;m not sure I fully understand Cindi's observation but TR is (usually) a clear set of guidelines although there is a great deal of nuance. The fundamentals are that you reduce a dose by 0.25u if your kitty's BG drops below 50. Beyond the first week when the depot is forming, if nadirs are generally over 200, you increase the dose after 3 days/6 cycles. If nadirs are below 200, you hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycles unless Harry is in normal numbers. If he's in normal numbers, you hold the dose for a week. That is the VERY pared down version.

You start a new thread (we refer to them as condos -- we get to visit each other's condos which sound much more neighborly than visiting a thread) every day that you post. You also link the previous day's condo to the current day's that way you can easily back track. We use a particular format for the subject line (date kitty's name AMPS-BG#, +time-BG #, etc.).

Don't worry about getting it all "right" the first time. Just ask questions. One thing to remember is that if you are unsure whether or not to shoot, unless numbers are below 50, don't feed. Post and ask for help. Edit your subject line to ask for help and people will come running. There are members from all over the world here so there's usually someone around to lend a hand.



 
Hi - I would color a row in on your spreadsheet to demarcate when you switched to Lantus (see Hyde's sheet mid July when we switched from ProZinc to Lantus).

You might as well start posting daily when you make the switch. When you have updates during the day, you can click the Thread Tools button at the top of your thread and it will give you the option to edit your subject line. There are also 3 icons you can choose from. Use the 911 when you have an emergency and the ? when you have a question that you would like to have answered. The third is GA and we really don't want to use that one :eek::eek:

Tight Regulation requires pretty strict timing and that you only feed wet food. That does not work in my household so we are doing SLGS. You should put which protocol you are following and the current dose in your signature. You can edit that at any time too.

Awesome! Thanks for the tips! Trying to set up a profile now, and then will update signature and then post numbers! Excited! :D:D
 
The info on the TR Protocol is in this link. I;m not sure I fully understand Cindi's observation but TR is (usually) a clear set of guidelines although there is a great deal of nuance. The fundamentals are that you reduce a dose by 0.25u if your kitty's BG drops below 50. Beyond the first week when the depot is forming, if nadirs are generally over 200, you increase the dose after 3 days/6 cycles. If nadirs are below 200, you hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycles unless Harry is in normal numbers. If he's in normal numbers, you hold the dose for a week. That is the VERY pared down version.

You start a new thread (we refer to them as condos -- we get to visit each other's condos which sound much more neighborly than visiting a thread) every day that you post. You also link the previous day's condo to the current day's that way you can easily back track. We use a particular format for the subject line (date kitty's name AMPS-BG#, +time-BG #, etc.).

Don't worry about getting it all "right" the first time. Just ask questions. One thing to remember is that if you are unsure whether or not to shoot, unless numbers are below 50, don't feed. Post and ask for help. Edit your subject line to ask for help and people will come running. There are members from all over the world here so there's usually someone around to lend a hand.


Yes, that was basically what Cindi was saying I just explained it horribly!! Seems manageable but I'll post if I need help! I'm going to post numbers soon! Wish me luck! Thank you for your help! :cat:
 
Hi Erika - you won't find a friendlier, more helpful place that L/L Land! I started with Caninsulin, a much harsher insulin also, then made the switch to Lantus and have noticed a huge difference. It takes a while to get used to the difference using a depot insulin but post questions if (when!) you have them. You will find support and help very quickly here.

It's definitely a lot of information in the Sticky's but read them, read them again, then read them again. Once you've had some cycles and seen the helpful advice here, it will all start to make sense.

I hope Harry can have safe surfing at happy numbers soon!
 
Welcome to L/L Land, Erika and Harry. Glad to see Harry is starting Lantus.

We are always happy to answer questions so never worry about that....if you have a question, we want to as wer and help you.

Congrats on the switch!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top