Hello! Newbie here!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Gizmo's momma, Aug 30, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gizmo's momma

Gizmo's momma New Member

Hi! My name is Shannon and I’ve been lurking in the background here for about a month. I’ve learned so much wonderful and valuable information! I figured it was about time to introduce myself and my cat. My cat, Gizmo, was diagnosed with diabetes in late July of this year. When she was tested in July, her numbers were 444. The vet suggested I try to see if I could get it under control through diet and have her glucose randomly checked after about a month. I had her checked yesterday and while her numbers had gone down (she tested as 342) they were still high. She will be starting insulin this week. I am hoping this helps and perhaps she will go into remission. I hope it helps her get more back to her old self. I have bought a meter and testing strips. Now to learn how to use it in the next few days.