Hello to all!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Dave & Stormy, Mar 8, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dave & Stormy

Dave & Stormy New Member

Hi, my name is Dave and my wife, Penny and I have been rescuing cats for over 5 years now. Mostly here out in the country, but we have recently signed on with a local rescue and have been fostering.
    I have joined today because one of our own, Storm, our 9 yr old, all white, 28 pounder. Yes, a.k.a. Big Stormy. We noticed over a week ago that he was camped in front of the water fountain we have for the cats. We had him tested about 4 years ago when we noticed his weight gain, but all was good then. Last week when he was tested, not so much. His level was 442. He has been on insulin for 4 days now at 2 units of Novolin U100, twice a day. He gets re-tested today.
    This is not our first experience with a diabetic kitty. We took in 2 surrenders about 6 months ago, both large 13 yr old torti sisters. The largest was the diabetic and her needs had been ignored by the previous owner for too long. We learned how to give the insulin and worked with her for a couple of weeks, but as I said, her needs were ignored too long and she had compounding health issues. We were forced to do "the deed". I still get weepy just typing about it. An don't get me started about my thought of the previous owner. Her sister is good and a happy/loving girl who has become a resident of our home.

Anyhoo, I'm here for Stormy and refuse to let this one get away on my watch! I hope to learn all I can with his diet and at home testing and look forward to any & all help/advice.

Thanks in advance to all and the moderators who make this valuable site available.

Critter Mom and Sparkle like this.
  2. Sparkle

Sparkle Member

Welcome. OMG. That is an adorable pic. I'm not too much of an advice giver, more a question asker, so I'm wondering why the Novolin?