Hello, we're Paula and Lucy

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by tiggertoo2174, Nov 20, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tiggertoo2174

tiggertoo2174 New Member

Lucy was diagnosed today by her vet as being borderline diabetic. Her BG was only 186 at the vet, but she's lost weight and has been drinking a lot and peeing a lot. I was relieved that she has something treatable, we were afraid she had cancer and would not be with us much longer. I have some experience with feline diabetes, I was on FDMB back in the 1990's with my cat Flash, and then again a couple of years ago with a short term foster Nanner. Because of this I don't have the fear, etc. a lot of newbies have, I know we can do this. To start the vet wants me to change her diet to all low carb canned and moniter her, and we'll go from there.

I know I should probably get fasting numbers on her just to get a baseline, but what other numbers are useful for diet controled?

Thanks,

pAula £ Lucy

2. Merlin

Merlin Well-Known Member

Welcome Lucy and Paula. Sorry about the diabetes diagnosis but as you know this is the best place to be. It would be great if you can get some home testing in to monitor. Sounds like your vet wants to try diet control first. This is a great place to start reading www.catinfo.org It will talk a lot about diet and will give you a list of food to choose from. We try to stay under 10% carbs and most of us try to get even lower like under 5% carbs. We also test with human meters because it is cheaper. Many get the Relion Confirm or Micro which uses less blood and the Relion Prime which needs more blood but the strips are cheaper. You can buy them at Walmart. You should get lancets that are 26-28 gauge. You can read a lot on these forums and pay particular attention to the signatures as many of us has the name of our food that we are using. Let us know if you have any additional questions.

3. Brashworks

Brashworks Member