Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Larissa and Motley

Larissa and Motley Member

Hello, I'm a mom to six cats, one of which, Motley, was diagnosed with diabetes yesterday when I took him in to get a tooth pulled.

I feel like an awful cat mom because he was loosing weight last month, but I thought it was due to his tooth bothering him (He was having trouble eating the hard food). He had a sideways tooth. So my husband and I took him to the vet. To our horror he weighed 6.6lbs. We fed him wet food until we were able to take him to get his tooth pulled. The vet ran a general blood panel and well here we are.

The vet put him on 1mkg(I think that's how it's measured) of novilin and Hill's D/M. The problem is, Motley hates pate wet food. Not to mention he's not used to grains in his diet any more. He eats a few bites of it and then walks away. I'm worried he's not eating enough to keep his sugar from dropping to low.

I'm also a full time student on a tight budget.

Suggestions on affordable wet cat food that isn't pate would be much appreciated.

2. Idjit's mom

Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

Wow, mom to six cats! How much fun you must have :joyful: I am sorry to hear about the diagnosis for Motley(love his name). Don't waste time beating yourself up over the past, we have today and can work on tomorrow. It's important for you to understand how the insulin you are using works, and about effective diabetes treatment. There are three basic components: proper low carb diet, insulin therapy and blood sugar testing. Many of us are on a tight budget and we can certainly help with cost saving tips and suggestions.