Help For Molly #16

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Adrienne & Molly (GA), Sep 29, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  2. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
  3. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  4. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Ok check her again at +2 and see if she is the same as, lower or higher than the 3.4 at shot time. That 79 may be her rising on her own or it may be food bump or it could be a combo of both. Setting an alarm to check on you again then.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  5. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  6. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Ok looks like she's staying pretty much stable....not really up or down so check again before bed. Tonight's shot should be onsetting by then. If she is stable or down, set an alarm to check her again around +5/6 and leave food out for her. She may bounce from those low numbers but best to check her in case she stays lower.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  7. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    She’s having a snack so it might go up. I’ll check her in an hour bedtime. Thanks for tonight :)
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  8. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Stick with same dose?
     
  9. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    What is AMPS?
     
  10. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  11. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Give her the 0.75u dose again this AM. She didn't earn any reduction yet. Just reduced last night to check due to dose confusion.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  12. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Staying the same? I’ll be gone for 2 hours tonight
     
  13. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Sorry Adrienne. Power outage. Yes carry on with same dose.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  14. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  15. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Cut back this morning? I was up at +7 and tested her
     
  16. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Technically no, you'd shoot regular dose as long as Molly is eating well. You can leave food that is a bit higher in carbs out (medium carb 10 to 15%) for her. Or if you are uncomfortable doing that, you can give her a reduced dose of 0.5u.
     
  17. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Ok, I left food out for her. Last night after I got up. She never touched her food. Until this morning I’m not sure what to do.
     
  18. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    When BG is down into normal ranges, their appetite naturally diminishes back to more normal levels. I think we forget what normal is because they can eat so much when numbers are high. Molly will be fine. If she starts going any lower than last night, she will eat. Looks like she got a nice surf going last night.
     
  19. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Ok so I have FF gravy that’ll be ok. To mix in with the pate? So go with the .75?
     
  20. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes you can mix a little of that high carb into the Low carb food to make a medium carb to leave out for her and go with 0.75u as long as you can test at lunch time.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  21. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Adrienne, grab another test before you run off to work.
     
  22. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Planned on it ;)
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  23. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Ok I tested her
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  24. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    She'll be fine with her food to keep her occupied if need be.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  25. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    I have her a little of the gravy and pate. Earlier and left more out. Hopefully it’s not too much?
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  26. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    It will wear off so no worries. :)
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  27. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Hopefully that bounce today will be short lived. Molly had an excellent cycle yesterday. Want to see more of those! :D
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  28. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Little disappointed this morning seeing the pink.
     
  29. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    That's par for the course but it will eventually calm down.;)
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  30. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Nice start to the day given that green last night. Bounce certainly didn't last long and she didn't bounce this morning despite the green last night. :joyful:

    One word of warning.....when you see a huge drop in BG like last night by +3, you can assume it may be an active cycle so best to give Molly food and set an alarm to double check on her later around +5/6. ;)
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  31. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    I know I was exhausted last night. I put food down for her and mixed gravy in it. She slept with me last night.
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  32. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Oh what a good excuse for a super cuddle! :woot::joyful: Molly is looking good!
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  33. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  34. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    @MrWorfMen's Mom continue with .75? I’ll be gone for 2 hours. DH will be home sometime
     
  35. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I'd stall without feeding for 20 to 30 minutes if you aren't going to be able to get a +2 BG to make sure she is rising on her own. Does DH test?
     
  36. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    She won’t eat and DH won’t test
     
  37. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Ok retest her in 20 minutes and see if she will eat then. If she won't eat, it's probably safer to skip tonight.
     
  38. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Ok did you see the the BG at +11?
     
  39. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes and it looks like she's holding steady and maybe she just isn't hungry because of the lower BG however you don't want to be chasing numbers overnight with a cat who won't eat. Catch 22. Better to know BG is coming up IMHO.
     
  40. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Ok I’m going to skip tonight. I’m out the door and hopefully she’ll be ok. Until DH gets home to see her.
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  41. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    She is coming up on her own and you could have shot but I assume you have left now.
     
  42. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  43. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes. Nice cycle today! Getting more greens in the mix now and bounces aren't lasting as long. :D
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  44. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Yes hopefully it’ll continue :p
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  45. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    I think I messed up. I have Molly medium carb food last night. Now her BG is up this morning.
     
  46. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    While the higher carbs might be part of it, I think you are probably seeing a little bounce too. Molly is dropping to green more often and still getting accustomed to that so don't worry....she'll come back down. :)
     
  47. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Ok, I don’t need to increase her dose? Not sure how that works with the TR.
     
  48. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    No you don't need to increase her dose. She is reaching green on the current dose so an increase could push her too low. You wait till she drops below 50 on this dose before decreasing.
     
  49. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Safe this morning for dose?
     
  50. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I am wondering how low Molly went last night. Can you test her again and see what her BG is now even if you've fed her? Not sure about dose right now.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  51. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  52. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Is that after eating?
     
  53. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  54. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Since she's eaten when that last test was done, how about reducing to 0.5u for this AM only? Test before you leave and if she is down at all, leave higher carb food for her in your absence.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  55. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Do you think she dropped lower in the night? she was eating after her last test last night. She's been sleeping with me. I check on her throughout the night.
     
  56. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    It's possible but not a certainty by any means. A lot of cats do go lower at night. It looks like her nadir is often around +6 so she probably went up a bit with the food last night but probably dropped down again a while later. She probably would have bounced if she'd gone much lower but she could have dropped a bit more given that lower AMPS this AM. Or she might have just surfed along in the same range leading to that lovely pre-shot.
     
  57. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Should I give her more high carb food for lunch?
     
  58. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes I'd leave higher carb out for her this afternoon. She is doing great!
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  59. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  60. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Will you be online 6pm my time? in case I need help
     
  61. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes I will be here. (9pm my time):D
     
  62. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2019
  63. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yup give her the 0.75u. I figured she's be up a bit tonight but then sometimes they surprise us. That is actually a good sign that her bounces are definitely getting far less dramatic.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  64. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    You online? Should I decrease to .50?
     
  65. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I think you'd probably be Ok with the 0.75u dose, however, there is always the chance Molly will get frisky so if sleep is a necessity tonight, yes I'd do a one time reduced shot.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  66. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    I reduced to .50
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  67. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    She’s not eating this morning. What dose should give her?
    @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
  68. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    If she won't eat, I'd check her again to see what her BG is doing in 30 minutes or so. Maybe she'll change her mind about eating but if she won't eat at that AMPS, I'd be reluctant to shoot since you can't monitor.
     
  69. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    She’s eating now
     
  70. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    That's good. Don't you just love it when they get your adrenalin going for nothing. As long as she eats well, you're fine to give her 0.75u. Usual drill with food and test at lunch but check BG before you leave to decide whether to leave LC or MC food out. If she up, LC. If stable or down, MC.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  71. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  72. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    OMG! Just seeing this now. Glad to see you got BG up. Was she acting OK when you caught that low? That definitely earned Molly a reduction to .50u tonight.
     
  73. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    She was acting fine. I always leave food out for her. Before I go to work. She usually doesn't eat it until I'm home for lunch, but today it was gone. This is the lowest she has been. I mixed gravy FF in with her LC and she ate majority of it. But I'm a little concerned with how low she dropped so quick? She seemed fine but I read some cats show no signs of hypo? I dread to think what could've happened if I was unable to make it home at lunch. I guess maybe she was trying to tell me something this morning, where she was tired and not in the mood for her breakfast. I guess I should've listed to my gut. Will you be online for 6pm my time?
     
  74. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes I will absolutely make sure I am here Adrienne. I have to admit I had my heart in my mouth when I saw your note. It's funny how sometimes they act like they don't care about food and I wonder if that might be something that you can use as a warning with Molly. I can just imagine the panic you felt with that reading. Not to suggest complacency at all, but the FS Lite does read low so she probably wasn't quite that low but still low enough to need HC food . You did the right thing mixing in gravy and getting her food. You know now she will eat when her BG is dropping which is also good news.

    Not sure what you left out in the way of food this AM, but next time she is that low, leaving high carb food out when you leave might be the way to go.

    Let's see what she does for tonight and decide next steps.

    Hopefully this won't happen again but if it does, post on the Lantus forum to get eyes on you immediately. There are usually folks online there who can assist and offer support.
     
  75. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    I just left out LC food this morning. But from now on I'll mix HC in with it to be safe. It had my scared to see that low number.I had to look twice to see if it was right or not. I honestly didn't think to message anyone on the Lantus. I just jumped to my feet and started mixed the gravy in her food. Waited to test her to see if she was safe.
     
  76. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    That's OK. I know all too well about that jumping into action but the important thing is you caught her. Next time you get a low number like that, it's a good idea to double check. Meters have a 15% variance allowance and sometimes you get a bad strip so rechecking can sometimes help quell some of the panic.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  77. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    She ate should I skip tonight? We’re going to be going out for supper
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
  78. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Better not to skip if you don't have to. How about a BCS of 0.50u or even 0.25u and leave out food for her to eat while you are gone if she needs/wants it. If you feel better skipping that's fine, but you don't want to lose momentum either and chances are she is going to go up soon from bouncing.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  79. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  80. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Big Chicken Shot:woot: Acutally 0.5u wouldn't be a chicken shot as she earned that reduction but 0.25u would be. Didn't write that very well.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  81. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Hi – I think I was online this afternoon when you had the scare but I did not check your thread and was not aware that you needed help.
    Along with posting in Lantus for help, if you change the title of the thread of your thread in the Health Forum to "Help! Low numbers!" and add a 911, you will get help almost immediately.

    Sorry I wasn't there for you this afternoon.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  82. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Ok .50 it is don’t want to be a chicken lol
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  83. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Leave MC out for Molly when you leave for dinner and check her when you get home.:)
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  84. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    That’s what I did hopefully she’ll be ok :)
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  85. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    It’s ok I wasn’t even thinking about posting. I was too concerned about getting her BG down. But if there’s a next time I’ll post
     
  86. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    .50 for this morning?
     
  87. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes give the 0.50u dose. Molly is just bouncing. This will pass.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  88. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    What should I do about tonight?
     
  89. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Technically you can shoot regular dose but that comes with also being prepared to monitor closely and intervene as needed for as long as needed. I'd stall without feeding if I were you and see if she is coming up on her own before making a decision.
     
  90. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    She had a bit to eat :facepalm:
     
  91. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Retest her anyway. How much would you estimate she ate? Quarter, half, three quarters of usual full meal?
     
  92. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    1/4 not very much food left in her dish. I’ll retest
     
  93. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  94. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Ok I think you can safely give her a 0.25u dose tonight (full dose might be OK but you've never shot that low). I expect she will once again start rising (bounce) again from that low. Get a test at +1 to see where she is headed. I'll be around.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  95. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    She’s bouncing? I got up in the night to check on her. Tested her and she was interested in food. She slept with me all night. Continue with the .50?
     
  96. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes she's bouncing. Continue with the 0.5u. Molly has a nice run in the green last night and is clearing bounces faster now so let's see how long it takes for this one to clear.

    One word of caution, many kitties go lower at night so when you get a reading like 67 at +5, you can feed her to keep her surfing but it also would be a good idea to set an alarm to check her again an hour or 2 later just to be sure she isn't continuing to drop.
     
    Adrienne & Molly (GA) likes this.
  97. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Ok, she was interested in any food last night. Hopefully this bounce won’t last
     
  98. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I take it you mean Molly wasn't interested in food at +5 (3.7)? If so, then that makes grabbing that extra test even more important. Some kitties will immediately demand food when BG starts dropping or gets low but some don't so your glucometer is your best friend to keep her safe.:D
     
  99. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Yes, the +5 she wasn’t hungry. She went back to bed with me. I woke up quite a bit checking on her. Not sure if that matters or not.
     
  100. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    There are diabetics who do not sense their BG is dropping too low and our kitties can do the same so until Molly is a little more stabilized and you have a better understanding of what she does when in those lower ranges (she's better but still not totally consistent), it's better to check than to rely just on her demeanour or appetite alone. The first time my girl was low, she was absolutely frantic for food. I figured I didn't need to worry because she'd let me know if she was dropping but it seems as she got more used to those low numbers, that was no longer a warning I could rely on. She'd eat if offered food but didn't go crazy asking. It's a pain in the neck at night but if you have to make a trip to the ladies or wake up, grabbing that extra BG test can sometimes be an eye opener.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page