? Help for newly diagnosed siamese in TX

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Zukosiamese, Sep 9, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zukosiamese

Zukosiamese New Member

Hello... my siamese has just been diagnosed... he had pancreatitis misdiagnosed as IBD for a while... so I'm gonna have a lot of questions throughout... first I'm wondering the probability that he read high on BG because of pancreatitis or that maybe the diabetes could of help cause the pancreatitis? He's on a rx food now DM intestinal diet now. TIA

2. Olive & Paula

Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

3. Zukosiamese

Zukosiamese New Member

Yes he has been started on 1 unit insulin H... twice a day. He has been on dry food before. They gave me both wet and dry DM. He's starving right now... gave about a 1/3 a can last night before insulin and the rest this morning with a handful of dry... he ate all... vet is not really helpful on a lot... luckily I'm a vet tech and know some things but never had a diabetic myself... stay at home mom currently... they don't want to check him for a couple of weeks... ugh... going to go get a glucometer... he acts good... I knew it was pancreatitis when I told them I wanted blood work done.... floored me with the diabetes. He's skinny, and had liquid diarrhea but it's starting to firm up

4. Olive & Paula

Are you using Humulin insulin? N or R?

5. Zukosiamese

Zukosiamese New Member

Humulin

6. Zukosiamese

Zukosiamese New Member

No Novolin... he's on Novolin went and checked

7. Olive & Paula

DO NOT stop dry food until you are home testing. Get a meter asa

That is short term insulin. It will act fast, hit hard, and last a short time.

Can you edit your title (drop list to the right under title) pick edit.