Help! Just tested 32, No insulin since Saturday!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Mamalou, Jan 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mamalou

Mamalou Member

Got my first reading today, one hour after shot, meter said 37mg! I don't think I did it right because she is fine. Alert and happy, walking just fine, playful, should I be concerned? Will try again in one hour. What do you think? Scared.

2. terri1962

terri1962 Well-Known Member

Re: Lily's first BG reading..very low!

Do you have any gravied foods? If so try to feed her some of that, If not do you have any karo syrup on hand. If so rub a little on her gums.
    Then test again.

Terri

3. Mamalou

Mamalou Member

Thanks Terri, I do have some gravy food. Will try it.

4. terri1962

If she is really that low I will try to get some help from the Lantus board as I have no experience with numbers that low. Edit, I now see that she is on Novolin not Lantus, I can still try to get someone to help.

Terri

5. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

At 39, on Novolin this early, I think I'd go straight to some honey rubbed on her gums. Then in 10 minutes or so, another test. N does hit early but she may drop further in the next few hours.

6. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Anything under forty, Lou Ann, is hypo territory - we usually see these numbers much later in the cycle. If she drops much further and the gravy/honey don't mean a rise, I think I'd take her to the vet. Hypo is very dangerous.

Test again in case the first one was a fluke. If not, please add a 911 to your post. (go back up to your first post, choose Edit and add 911)

7. Mamalou

Mamalou Member

26!!! What! I gave her some Karo. Good grief! I am wondering if the meter is correct or not. She is fine. What is going on?

8. terri1962

Lou Ann,

I think I would pack her right up now and get her to the vet NOW. Test maybe one more time NOW and if you get that again go to the vet.