Help Left Prozinc out of refrigerator

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Ben10, Jan 22, 2019.

1. Ben10

Ben10 New Member

I left our brand new bottle of prozinc out of the frig for 11 hours. It was in the box but not refrigerated. I tried calling manufacture but it is after hours. My helpful vet said call the pharmacy. I now question why I go to this vet if they can't help me with this type of situation. Anyone else know what to do if Prozinc is left out this long. Still ok (safe) to use. Self life now that is has been left out? Our cat just got diagnosed about two months ago so I am new to all of this.

2. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

Hi Ben - Welcome! Are you home testing? The best way to tell if the insulin is still good is to compare the numbers and see if it's still working. If you're home testing you should be able to see if the impact changes.

Also look at it and make sure it's still the right amount of cloudy, and there aren't white floaty bits in there.

If you've only been at this for two months and are already on a new bottle of insulin, I'm a little concerned about the dose your kitty is getting, so hopefully you are home testing and know that the dose is appropriate - because going through a vial of insulin that fast sounds like a pretty high dose.

Rachel and Kris & Teasel like this.
  3. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

It's most likely fine unless your house is 100 degrees. :)

4. Ben10

Ben10 New Member

Thank all for your help. I am not home testing at this time. We have been going to the vet every 2 to 3 weeks for testing but the vet now thinks our cat is regulated at 4mg twice a day and we are not to come back till April. The vet did not tell us to check the cats levels at home but I am guessing it is not a bad thing to do and should probably start. Just hope I am able. What do all your experienced cat owners recommend (equipment, frequency). Thanks again. Nice to fine this help.

5. Kris & Teasel