Help! Missed a shot, what to do?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kate and Basil, Sep 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kate and Basil

    Kate and Basil New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    We missed Basil's shot at 8pm tonight. He was at 14.1, so he was meant to get his 1.5u, but we forgot. It's now +3 and he's at 12.1. What would you do??? His normal amps is anywhere from 12.2-16.6. Nadir seems to be at about +6, when he can get as low as 8.4. Pmps tends to be a bit lower...anywhere from 6.8-14.1, usually more likely around the 13.5-14 level.
    Thanks,
    Kate and Basil
     
  2. Maggies Mom Debby

    Maggies Mom Debby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I don't know your insulin, but I might give a slightly reduced dose. Maybe 1 unit?

    I hope someone who knows your insulin comes along soon.
     
  3. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    He seems to be low enough so I would just skip the shot. It is not that harmful to skip a shot once in awhile as long as there is not history of keytones or other problems.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page