? Dose Advice Please: 9/15 Keno AMPS 165,+10 307 +11.5 397

Status
Not open for further replies.

jacereske

Member Since 2014
Not sure what to do. I must go to work for a big meeting today - cannot stay home to monitor.

She is getting 4 u twice a day - should I give 2 u?

Yesterday I cut the Weruva in half - it made a big difference in her PMPS.

thanks,
Jeanette
 
A few more questions
1) what time do you have to leave?
2) can you leave food out for him?
3) Do you have an auto feeder? or will he graze?

Even if you do a BCS he may still drop.
If his numbers are still dropping when you recheck it may be safest, to skip altogether, you have no data on what he will do when you shoot this low.
However if you see his numbers rising significantly now after 20 -30 from when you first tested it could show that Keno is on his way up, he may well have dropped lower last night and be on his way up this morning, in which case it will probably be ok to give him some insulin, let's see what number you get when you do that recheck.
 
A few more questions
1) what time do you have to leave?
2) can you leave food out for him?
3) Do you have an auto feeder? or will he graze?

Even if you do a BCS he may still drop.
If his numbers are still dropping when you recheck it may be safest, to skip altogether, you have no data on what he will do when you shoot this low.
However if you see his numbers rising significantly now after 20 -30 from when you first tested it could show that Keno is on his way up, he may well have dropped lower last night and be on his way up this morning, in which case it will probably be ok to give him some insulin, let's see what number you get when you do that recheck.

1 - I have to leave in one hour.

2 - I can leave food out, but I have 4 other cats.

3 - No auto feeder. She's not a grazer - I suspect she will eat it all as soon as I leave. She is hungry 24/7

What's a BCS??

I will recheck in 15 minutes - which is 1 hour after AMPS.
 
Sorry BCS is a Big Chicken Shot :)
BCS big chicken shot, usually a reduced by.5 unit shot:bighug:

(Reducing the dose by 30 to 50%)

OK see what her BG is in an hour, but don't feed. If she has soared, she's likely off on a bounce and you could shoot, but if she is about the same I would probably recommend skipping.

I will be staying
 
=-
Sorry BCS is a Big Chicken Shot :)


(Reducing the dose by 30 to 50%)

OK see what her BG is in an hour, but don't feed. If she has soared, she's likely off on a bounce and you could shoot, but if she is about the same I would probably recommend skipping.

I will be staying

Just tested - she is at 222 - I am using Alpha Trak 2
 
Sorry BCS is a Big Chicken Shot :)


(Reducing the dose by 30 to 50%)

OK see what her BG is in an hour, but don't feed. If she has soared, she's likely off on a bounce and you could shoot, but if she is about the same I would probably recommend skipping.

I will be staying

She is at 222 - I'm using Alpha Trak 2

We just made a change to diet yesterday. She is still getting Hill's m/d which is 14% carbs. The change we made was to reduce her mid-day snacks that she gets +3 and +6 in half - I think that is what was making her PMPS BG so high.

What would you think of giving 1 u?
 
He has come up some, but 222 would be the lowest you have shot. Whenever you shoot lower than you have previously we recommend that you monitor to see what happens.
Now though shooting the full 4u would pobably be ok I don't feel comfortable suggesting that as I am not sure how the 4u dose was arrived at, it seems that he has been taken up in whole units. and I am cocerned that you may have missed the goldilocks dose in doing that.
I think that shooting 2u would be the safest option given that you can't monitor.
feed her her usual breakfast and leave a good amount of food out for her.

If the 1u makes you more comfortable you could go with that.
 
Given that she is eating 14% carb, I would give her some of that rather than the LC, the higher carbs will keep her safer.
When will you be back to test her?
 
Given that she is eating 14% carb, I would give her some of that rather than the LC, the higher carbs will keep her safer.
When will you be back to test her?

I can feed her the 14% with her shot and I have someone who can feed her the snack at normal times +3 and +5 - but he is NOT feline diabetes savvy at all. Given that, I feel comfortable with the 2 u - what do you think?

I can be back to test at +12.
 
I think the 2u nwould be ok and have your helper feed her 14% at +3 and +5, maybe a bit more than usual.
I wouldn't be surprised if she is starting on a bounce, but giving Keno 14% now and some later will bolster her BG if she is deciding to drop lower.
 
Just something to think about for another time, do you think you could teach your helper to test?? Would they be up for it?

Gathering that sort of data on a daily basis, could prove very helpful when it comes to making dosing decisions.
 
I think the 2u nwould be ok and have your helper feed her 14% at +3 and +5, maybe a bit more than usual.
I wouldn't be surprised if she is starting on a bounce, but giving Keno 14% now and some later will bolster her BG if she is deciding to drop lower.

Actually we think it is the low carb mid-day snack that is raising the BG's (long story - but others have had this experience with that food). So do you think we should stick with that for the mid-day snack?
 
Just something to think about for another time, do you think you could teach your helper to test?? Would they be up for it?

Gathering that sort of data on a daily basis, could prove very helpful when it comes to making dosing decisions.

I think I can do that.

Just tested and she is 202.
 
I'd go with the MC, seeing as we know that it is MC.
Hadn't heard there was a problem with Weruva?? But there again I'm in Europe so don't use it.
Or do a fifty fifty mix.
 
Just want to point out, whatever time you shoot becomes your new shot time. so if you delayed the shot by 1 hour then tonight you should shoot 1 hour later, to get back on schedule you can adjut by 30 min a day or 15min per cycle.
If she were to be very high tonight you could get back on schedule by shooting an hour early, but best to post for advice for that tonight, and have someone experienced guide you.
 
Just want to point out, whatever time you shoot becomes your new shot time. so if you delayed the shot by 1 hour then tonight you should shoot 1 hour later, to get back on schedule you can adjut by 30 min a day or 15min per cycle.
If she were to be very high tonight you could get back on schedule by shooting an hour early, but best to post for advice for that tonight, and have someone experienced guide you.

Got it. Thank you.
 
I would settle on 1U for now - it will give you the piece of mind, I think, knowing that you did not have to skip a shot but at the same time she would not dip a lot at 1U if she was tolerating 4U, especially with new food on board.
 
I would settle on 1U for now - it will give you the piece of mind, I think, knowing that you did not have to skip a shot but at the same time she would not dip a lot at 1U if she was tolerating 4U, especially with new food on board.

Thank you. It's conservative I know, but this is my first go-around shooting her this low. And yes, the new food is a big factor.
 
I just got home and Keno is 307 at +10. So I know I need to give her insulin tonight.

However, I have no idea how much to give. Yesterday we cut her Weruva in half, and last night she was 270 PMPS and I gave her 4 u. This morning she was at 165 AMPS. She only had 1 unit today since I could not be home to monitor.

She did not have any of the Weruva today - she ate only the medium carb (17%) food (In my earlier posts I said 14%, but that was incorrect) with her AM shot and at +2 and +4.5.

I would appreciate some guidance on what to shoot tonight.

thanks,
Jeanette
 
I wouldn't assume it was cutting down the Weruva that caused the drop in her blood glucose....it could of been how much she ate, if she got some exercise overnight or 1000 different reasons for a lower number this morning.

Generally speaking, unless she's really carb sensitive, anything under 10% shouldn't really cause that much of a difference...although ECID of course! It might be something you see if you can replicate before deciding

Retest again at +11.5....that will give you 30 minutes to get some dose advice, but right off hand, I'd say to plan on shooting the 4 units tonight (these kitties like to surprise us sometimes, so there's really no telling where she might be at PMPS...that's 2 whole hours away! ;)
 
Looks good!:bighug: Bump yourself up if you don't get responses and it's getting close to your shoot window. And I change the title to "need to shoot now, dose help please" when I'm really close!
 
I wouldn't assume it was cutting down the Weruva that caused the drop in her blood glucose....it could of been how much she ate, if she got some exercise overnight or 1000 different reasons for a lower number this morning.

Generally speaking, unless she's really carb sensitive, anything under 10% shouldn't really cause that much of a difference...although ECID of course! It might be something you see if you can replicate before deciding

Retest again at +11.5....that will give you 30 minutes to get some dose advice, but right off hand, I'd say to plan on shooting the 4 units tonight (these kitties like to surprise us sometimes, so there's really no telling where she might be at PMPS...that's 2 whole hours away! ;)

Chris, I wouldn't think it was the Weruva either.

But there are two other people on the Board who told me that they had a similar experience with the same Weruva I am feeding - Paw Lickin' Chicken. Feeding that really raised their kitty's BG and when they stopped feeding it, the BG's came down. So I do suspect that could be why she dropped so much.

I will test and post again at +11.5. Thank you.
 
Another reason I suspect the Weruva is that Keno has tested over 400 PMPS every day since 9/6. She was getting the Weruva on all of those days. Yesterday when she got 1/2 the amount of Weruva, for the first time, she tested at 270 PMPS.
 
I'm not saying it's not possible....You never know if there might be one ingredient or something that just doesn't agree with your particular cat

They do like to make stuff hard on us ;):banghead:
 
I'm not saying it's not possible....You never know if there might be one ingredient or something that just doesn't agree with your particular cat

They do like to make stuff hard on us ;):banghead:

They sure do!

Angela said that she looked at the label and it has potato starch.

I'm going to test her again now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top