Help! Newly diagnosed 13 year old .

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by MotherofCats, Aug 13, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MotherofCats

MotherofCats New Member

HI everyone. I've never done one of these before but am desperate for help. My 13 year old boy has been diagnosed in the last week. His glucose was 380 , he's 9 lbs very thin.. the vet has prescribed him insulin which I'm waiting for it to be shipped once the rx is approved, and the hills rx soft food. Here is a big issue.. he's always hungry , I feed him a can of wet food a day , the Dr said I could split one up into thirds and feed 3 times a day. I have 3 male cats Hercules is a bit obsessed and won't finish his own food , because he wants to move on and eat the others food as well. I've tried separating him and he stops eating until I let him out to roam , then he looks for the others bowls. I feel so frustrated, how often should I be feeding him? How much? What should I feed him, the hills soft food the vet sold me? It seems he's really gouging me with costs. Not helping me with my questions. Sorry to ramble.. I'm just at my wits end trying to keep every one happy. Now the other two really want the prescription food too. HELP PLEASE?

2. apple

apple Member

1 can of food doesn't seem to be enough food. If he's hungry, it's suggested let him eat. Unregulated diabetics need the calories. Food would be pulled up two hours before you test his bg before shots.

Many here feed friskies or fancy feast pate.

Others will be along to offer more help.

Welcome to the group. It's a great place to get information to help you cat.

We encourage posting questions in the main forum, then there is a section for the different types of insulin and you can post to any of those as well.

Looking forward to seeing you in the main health forum.

Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  3. MotherofCats

MotherofCats New Member