? Help with numbers! (newbie who may have shot high)

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Harukyo, Jun 9, 2019.

1. Harukyo

Harukyo Member

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to home testing. The first tests were a breeze and this second day has been tears and frustration. Kyo's levels have been mostly flat from the 200-299 range from AMPS and PMPS but for today's PM shot she read 153mg/dL. I gave her the usual 1.5u ProZinc that she has been on and now that I'm reading more about how youre supossed to stall feeding and test again I am concerned that I gave her a dose too high instead of skipping the dose. Please help, I am so stressed out and trying desperately to absorb so much information in so little time. Shes on Purina DM dry, (I know), I'll be moving her to FF classics wet once I get more BG readings and learn how to adjust insulin. I have Karo syrup on hand and I'm going to test her again at +3, I just need help interpreting the tests that I DO have. Please refer to my spreadsheet.

Thank you for reading, any help/advice I will be so thankful for.

2. Jenna Josie

Jenna Josie Member

I’m here!

She’s going to be fine. Test her at +2. That will let you know how the cycle will be going. You should see a bit of a “food spike” at that time; I.e., her number will be higher than the PS number. If it’s about the same or lower, then you can get a +3.

Perhaps she was just having a nice long cycle, which kept her PS low, but hopefully between the dinner (you fed her with the shot, I assume?) and the prior shot wearing off, her +2 will be up and you can get a good night’s sleep.

Harukyo likes this.
  3. Harukyo

Harukyo Member

Yes! I always make sure she eats before her shot. And okay I will definitely make sure I get that +2 reading! Thank you thank you Jenna!

4. Jenna Josie

Jenna Josie Member

I see from your sig that you’re on central time (us, too). Did you shoot at 10? I can check in for your +2 ...

5. Harukyo

Harukyo Member