Help with testing

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Gretchen's Mom, Apr 25, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gretchen's Mom

Gretchen's Mom New Member

I am new to this and need help with getting the blood test. I have been taught to prick her ear.
    Is there any other way?

2. Becky & Baby Girl GA

Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

@Bellasmom does the foot pad. Maybe she can help.
    Are you warming & massaging the ear for a couple minutes before. Hiring the sweet spot? Using a large enough lancet? 29 gauge.
    This all may be a repeat for you but just trying to help. I had trouble with Baby’s ears at first...
    good luck! :cat:

3. FurBabiesMama

FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

Djamila and Becky & Baby Girl GA like this.
  4. Bellasmom

Bellasmom Well-Known Member

Hello Gretchen’s mom, yeah i started out trying ear but Bella,hated it and fought me tooth and nail, so I started doing pads, rotating among the 4, I wipe them down with alcohol wipes let dry few seconds, test and then hold wipe on for a few secs, he’s just recently started to let me do his 1 ear lol so now i rotate including the ear, hope he will let me his other ear and we can rotate between them all, I wasn’t good at the ear at first and sometimes still have to try a cpl times, I do find that giving them a treat as a reward helps with this procedure, now if I show bellamthe meter he comes running because I also have his treat I my hand lol he just lays there waiting patiently for treat

5. Sue (Mo's Mum)

Sue (Mo's Mum) Member

@Gretchen's Mom, I'm new to this too, but think I'm now getting to grips with the ear testing! Mo doesn't like it that he needs to stay still whilst I get the sample onto the test strip but he's tolerating it for the chance of a treat.

I found it tricky trying to co-ordinate everything, but as I've been doing a starting Glucose Curve I've learned pretty quickly.

I have everything set up ahead: