Hi fellow cat lovers

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Lisa.P., Apr 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lisa.P.

    Lisa.P. New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Hi, I have my cat bob who has been diabetic for approximately 7 or 8 years my vet has him on humulin N since the beginning. 31/2 weeks ago he had a dental issue and surgery for a mass that was benin. He has lost 4 lbs in 31/2 weeks which is freaky me out, he is under vet care and just not wanting to eat much. I am taking him to a dental specialist to see what else is going on. His BG has been up and down the highest has been 370 mostly the high point has been 270 down to 90 or 110. I was away on business and My husband skipped his shot this morning because he didn't eat and waited for tonght to test him. I got home tonight he was lethargic and started crying like he was in pain I checked his BG, it was 460. Yikes ...I gave him his shot He is definitely improving.
    Has anyone else ever had there cat react like that when there BG was that high? Oh he has eaten and did drink tonight but I had to hand feed him forgot to mention that.
     
  2. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Welcome to FDMB.

    Great that you test!

    Generally, Humulin N lasts only 6-8 hours in the cat, although some cats are different. have you seen it last longer in your cat?

    Can we get you started using our grid to record your glucose tests? It will help us give you better feedback. Instructions are here.

    Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

    The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

    Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

    From left to right, you enter
    the Date in the first column
    the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
    the Units given (turquoise column)

    Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
    If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
    If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
    and so on.

    Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
    To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

    There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
    If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

    We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

    It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page