Hi from Leslie & Mathilda

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Skeedoosh, Dec 7, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Skeedoosh

Skeedoosh New Member

Hey folks! My name is Leslie and I'm caring for a foster failure named Mathilda (after Natalie Portman's character in Leon: The Professional). I work as an animal care technician at my local shelter and Mathilda came to us as a stray. She started showing symptoms of high bg (excessive thirst and urination, rapid weight loss) after a depo medrol shot, so we tried using d/m food and then an oral med (can't remember the name off the top of my head). Neither fully helped, and we can't do insulin in the shelter setting, so I volunteered to foster/eventually adopt her to get her away from the stress of the shelter and get her on insulin. We brought her home a week ago yesterday and the vet has started her on 3u of Prozinc 2x daily as well as staying on the d/m food. She's been responding very well (frighteningly well!) and is already way more playful and active than she ever was in the shelter. She's the sweetest kitty and she makes caring for her easy, although we're still working on making ear pricks a more agreeable experience for all involved haha. We're taking her back to the vet tomorrow to be re-evaluated since her bg has gone down a lot faster than we expected--if I needed a cure for boredom, having a special needs kitty has certainly solved it! Anyway, we're very new to this but I'm so grateful there's a support network like this out there. :)

2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi Leslie and Mathilda...welcome to the forum.:)
    That is very good of you to take in Mathilda and care for her....she is a lucky girl.
    With the food.....do you mean the Hills M/D? Are you giving wet or dry food?