Hi, My name is Denise and my 15-year old cat, Bubba was daignosed in June.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by DeniseParise, Dec 19, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DeniseParise

DeniseParise New Member

I am new to message boards and not really sure how to use them, so please excuse any mistakes I may make.

My 15-year old cat, Bubba was diagnosed in June. I have not been able to get him under control. His on 7 1/2 units of PZI twice a day. I have been feeding him Fancy Feast Classic and Tiki Cat -- no dry food. I have 2 vets. My main vet, and my secondary vet. Right now, the secondary one is over-seeing Bubba's care.

She said that I am feeding him wrong and most likley I am the cause of the high BG's. I feed him every 3 hours - a small amount of either FF or Tiki. 200 caloris a day. She wants me to put him on prescription Glycobalance DRY food. (I am NOT happy about using dry food.) She ordered it for me and I will be picking it up on Friday. I am willing to try it. I need some help. I need a good feeding schedule. I know that I am doing it "wrong", but I have 7 cats - others with special needs and health problems - and I am struggling to care for all of them. And feed various special diets.

Right now, Bubba is my main concern and I am focusing most of my energy on his care. I test him for ketones - none yet - and I test his BG several times a day - Alpha Trak II. He is all over the map number-wise. Sometimes in the 500's. Sometimes in the 400's - and one day - quite unexepectedly - he crashed with a low of 48. (He was 500 the night before - 48 the next morning.)

My main concern right now is coming up with a good feeding schedule. I would like to continue with Fancy Feast with some Tiki cat thrown in. Like I said, I am willing to try toe prescription Glycobalance for a few weeks to see if it helps. Does anyone here have experience with Royal Canin Glyco balance?