Hi Ya'll on FDMB! I'm a newbie with about 1000 questions :)

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by boobookins, Jun 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. boobookins

boobookins New Member

Hi There FDMB!

I have been reading this board for about 1 week now. My kitty Titus (He is 10 and 14.4 lbs) I noticed the last 2 weeks he has been acting strange, drinking a ton therefore urinating a ton and eating things he never would have normally ate (Titus is one of those rare kitties who hates human food usually). We took him to the vet (because I knew these were signs of diabetes) and Titus is the type of kitty who usually has to be sedated for any procedure (but we fasted him before the test for 12 hours but left water out) but he was a bit tired that morning and even though he was a fur-ball of fury they were able to get the blood test done without sedation (this was a first haha) I call back the next morning and they said everything in his blood-work looks fine (they did a blood panel) except his BG was at 511, so I have myself a sugar-kitty. We made an appointment to learn how to administer insulin (they let us try on a boarder cat the vet, but we injected water into him not insulin haha) and I also went and bought ReliOn BG monitor/test strips and lancets.

Now my boyfriend and I watched about 500 youtube videos on how to home test, because Titus is a fiesty one (don't get me wrong he is the biggest sweetheart in the world, he even does kitty kisses where he tilts your chin with his paw and licks your lips...it's the sweetest thing in the world, but he refuses to give up if he doesnt like something or want it to happen...and i cant help but love that about him too) I adopted him when he was 2.5 from an old friend, how she ever gave him up is beyond me, he's been my heart for 8 years now.

So now the current situation...