Homemade cat food

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sudio3, Jun 17, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sudio3

Sudio3 Member

Hello,
    Does anyone have experience or have information about making your own cat food? Or ideally "homemade" cat food that is packaged and I can buy that is truly only fresh meat and whatever else they need? I would like to try as my kitty's numbers are high and he's not doing great. I'm hoping this will help. I have enough trouble feeding myself and my 1 year old so I'm hoping it's not complicated or time consuming. Being able to buy this someone would be even better.

Thank you so much!
    Marissa

2. Veronica & Babu-chiri

Veronica & Babu-chiri Well-Known Member

Sorry I have no experience with premade Homemade food since none of them are available where I live, but really doing it is not so bad I prepare big batches enough for 2-3 weeks and freeze it (can't make more since I have a limited amount of freezing space and I cook for 4 cats) , if you want to give it a try here's a link to Dr. Lisa's recipe it's awesome is amazing how well my cats are using her recipe

https://catinfo.org/making-cat-food/#The_Recipe

3. TheReal_JD

TheReal_JD New Member

I do, I have a grinder but I also buy pre ground things to make it easier when I am on a rotation at the hospital that is crazy. I feed high fat/medium protein/zero carb, because my food has to feed both my diabetic girl and my CKD boy. If you want my recipe, let me know. YMMV, as like I said, I cook for two disorders that historically should be fed the opposite diet (low protein for CKD and low carb for Diab).

4. Veronica & Babu-chiri

I do pretty much the same I feed my diabetic (and also CKD) and my two CKD and my young otherwise healthy girl the exact same food all of them on the long run will benefit from a low carb, high protein (even the CKD to avoid muscle waste ) low phosphorus (very important for CKD) even the healthy one