Hometesting - add 40 to results?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by paige, Dec 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paige

paige Well-Known Member

I talked to the vet tech yesterday and she said that they add 40 to the result that they get from their human glucometer. Is this true? Should I be adding to my results at home?

I apologize if this has already been asked but I am still learning my way around :)

2. tuckers mom

tuckers mom Well-Known Member

I don't think I've ever heard that before.

I've used many meters and in the past have brought them to the vet with me and Tucker and the difference was minimal. My own vet no longer asks to do curves or tests for Tucker's BGs, I simply send her my own spreadsheet once in a while.

Maybe others can offer some information.

3. Mary & Stormy Blue

Mary & Stormy Blue Member

Never have I heard of adding 40 to the test results because it is a cat being tested on a "human" glucometer. Seems to me that just inflates the test result number for no good reason.

~M

4. Tara and Nick

Tara and Nick Member

The Rand protocol (I don't have a link handy here at work, but maybe someone else here does?) says a human meter is about 30% off, so they recommend adding around 30 on the low end of numbers but not adding to high numbers. For example, in the Rand protocol, the good range is 50-200 on a human meter, 80-200 on a pet meter like AlphaTrak.

5. Michele and Peeps

Michele and Peeps Member

I have heard conflicting stories about how "off" readers are. You can get 6 different results from 3 different meters in a matter of minutes. My own vet told me that human meters read a little high as a safety precaution.

I have always just gone by what number the glucometer spits out at me. That way you won't confuse yourself looking at your charts, "Did I remember to ad 40 this time?"

6. paige

paige Well-Known Member