Houston, we have a problem (testing)

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by beepsandclicks, Aug 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beepsandclicks

beepsandclicks New Member

OK, I'm new to this...first day attempting testing my very recently DXd cat.

Yesterday was my first post here. My cat TJ was given his first insulin injection at the vet yesterday (3 units) and I gave him the same amount last night.
    This morning he seemed amazingly like his old self, trotting about and grooming (finally!). However, I was advised by many wonderful folks on this forum that 3 units 2x day was probably too large a dose to start, so I planned on beginning with 1 unit 2x day and check the glucose levels.

Unfortunately I was not able to begin this experiment until late this morning, a few hours later then when his dose should have been. The vet was out of Prozinc until today, I had to wait until the shipment arrived to give TJ his first dose...and did not arrive until 11 am! By the time I got the insulin and the test kit ready, TJ already looked a bit "crashy," like he had been looking all last week: fur suddenly looks more unkempt, just lying on his side, occasional meowing as if something was wrong.