? How much insulin?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Booger's Mom, Mar 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Booger's Mom

Booger's Mom Member

Booger is supposed to get 3 units 2x a day. I am new to this so I was checking him after he ate but before giving his insulin. Today I started checking him before he eats, then let him eat and give his insulin. This morning before he ate he was 454 so I gave the 3 units. Right now, I just checked him and he was 370. He is eating now and then I will give him his insulin. Should I still give him the 3 units?

2. Booger's Mom

Booger's Mom Member

I went ahead and gave him the 3 units and I will check him in a little while to see where he is at. I did see in one of the articles about glucose levels and adjusting insulin levels. When he was initially diagnosed, the vet told me to just give him 2 units 2x day. Didn't say anything about checking his levels nothing. I just do not know how she can expect me to give him 2 units 2x a day and not know what his glucose level is. Thinking back on it now, that scares me that he could have been low and I could have made him lower by giving him the 2 units. On 3/9 he went in for a glucose curve and she said he was in the 300's all day so she upped him to 3 units.

3. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

Vetsulin usually peeks at 5-6 hours after injection.... Tests in that time will tell you how low he's going.

4. JanetNJ

Looking at your spreadsheet you have a very bouncy kitty. It's dipping from 600's to 200's. Sometimes when that happens is the body protecting itself from what it perceives add a hypo because the cat isn't used to lower numbers.

5. Booger's Mom

Booger's Mom Member

@JanetNJ I was testing after he ate as well so I think that is a factor in why he is so high on some of the numbers.

6. JanetNJ