http://www.boots.com/accu-chek-performa-nano-blood-glucose-system-10216436

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (The Main Forum)' started by bar, Dec 10, 2017.

  1. bar

    bar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Hi, rather than order and chance christmas post for an accu check aviva which has been recommended here but I cannot find other than online - has anyone tried the accu check performa which I can buy in Boots? many thanks - a lot to learn but after reading lots of posts over weekend - feel I am starting to get my head round it now, I hope !
     
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Should be OK. Check with the pharmacist about the size of blood drop it take. The smallest is best.
     
  3. Chris & China

    Chris & China Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    It takes 0.6 microliter sample size.....that's fairly big (in blood drop size)

    You'll probably need to make sure the ear is good and warm and that you're using larger size lancets to make sure you get a big enough sample. (26-28 gauge lancets)
     
  4. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Hi, I think Monica @Monica Lewis might use this, or something similar...
    Have tagged her to see if she can help.

    Edited to add: here's a link to where Monica mentions the meter:
    Hi from me and Molly, any advice please
    .
     
    Monica Lewis likes this.
  5. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    I think there's a meter called the Code-free which is available from Amazon and has had good reports from other UKers... the starter kit is good value and the strips - your biggest ongoing cost - are more reasonable than most, if I remember.
    If you have pet insurance you may be able to claim these costs, or a percentage of them.
    Good luck finding one and let us know what you decide.
     
  6. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It is relative. I have used a meter that required 3 ul of blood and did OK. For many years a used One Touch meter and that used 1 ul. I like that but the strips goot too expensive. Now I use a meter that uses 0.6 ul and have no problem
     
  7. Monica Lewis

    Monica Lewis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Apologies everyone for the delay in responding, notifications been playing up so only seen this!:banghead:

    Yes this is what we use and so far it's been fairly reliable. Never used anything else so can't really compare or comment on the amount of blood it needs but so far we've been managing alright and only had a few error messages due to insufficient amount of blood in the past 9 months.
    Also we find it very convenient that we can just to go to Boots and take the boxes of test strips straight off the shelves whenever we are running out of them..
     
  8. Juliet

    Juliet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    I use accucheck Aviva - similar to proforma. Never had any issues.
     

Share This Page