Well, if that 95 at +4 was propped up with some high carb treats, and Smokey Joe got some more high carb treats at +5, then I think a dose reduction is DEFINITELY in order. Thanks for mentioning the treats at those times. I was kind of on the fence, about suggesting a dose reduction before, but that comment totally changed my mind.
The question is, what should the reduced dose be? Personally, I'm leaning more towards 0.75U for the dose for Smokey Joe vs the 1U. It's up to you. Worst case, the 0.75U dose isn't enough, and we find that out in 3-6 cycles and you have to bump the dose up a smidge.
No worries on getting a +7.5 instead of a +7. Talking to your Mom is important too.
No apologies needed on the editing bit, I just wanted you to know how the board works, and that those changes you made might not be seen.
You don't have a lot of mid-cycle test data yet, to know how low the insulin takes Smokey Joe. Really, you only have 5 1/2 days where you had some mid-cycle tests. So, for now, the decision point threshold for what to do should be 200 mg/dL. After you gather more data, that decision point threshold could drop to 150. But for now, you should keep it higher.
It does not mean you should totally skip the dose if the BG's are <200. What you want to do, is stall for 20 minutes, no food, then retest. If the BG number is rising, and I mean by a good 15-20% or so, then you could go ahead and give him the insulin. You can stall for up to 1 hour with Prozinc, and still stay on schedule for the next cycle time. Use that same wait 20 minutes, no food, retest cycle during that 1 hour time period while you are stalling. Wash, rinse, repeat as we say.
If the BG during stalling is staying pretty much the same, within meter variance, then you'll want to either give a greatly reduced dose, what we call a "token dose" of between 10-25% of his normal dose. When I say normal dose, I mean for tonight the reduced dose of 0.75U.
If the BG's you get while using the stalling technique are dropping, you're better off skipping the dose and picking it back up at the next cycle. Not always the case that skipping is the right thing to do, with all insulins, or with all situations. Ketones or DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis) or HL (hepatic lipidosis) make it important to give at least some insulin.
For now, I'd recommend skipping the dose if the BG's are under 150 mg/dL. That will not hold true forever. Simply until you gather more data on the mid-cycle lows or Smokey Joe decides he has had enough of this "insulin shot thing" and decides to surprise you and go OTJ, (Off-the-juice, insulin being the juice), aka diet controlled or in remission or "honeymoon."
p.s. Would you start making notes on the SS in the Remarks column on the far right, when you have done things like giving him treats or food? Having the notes on food and treats in that column, helps us to interpret what is going on with the BG readings. + hour times please.