I am at a loss

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Ashly, Aug 23, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ashly

Ashly New Member

hi! My name is Ashly! Let me start off by telling you I am a full time college student as well as having a full time job. I live with my parents whom are divorced because of my moms drinking problem. My dad and I are trying to help her. Earlier this year I had to put my 18 yo cat Kia down. We still never really found out what it was. Some sort of organ failure. Anyhow I spent well over 4,000 dollars trying to save her life. I grew up with Kia. I told everyone I wouldn’t be able to handle her passing and I didn’t. However about 9 years ago, I found a little kitty in a storm drain with a broken leg and dislocated shoulder. Her name is Mao mi. I saved her life and brought her in with me. Mao mi got a extremely over weight so I put her on a diet and got her weight down only to find it in May she has diabetes.

I cannot afford insulin. My mom helped me out by buying me a bottle to get her started because I just want bear the thought of losing my cat. I have contacted DCIN. I have switched over her food to friskies. I have bought a home resting kit. I have given her insulin (vetsulin). But she just keeps getting worse and worse. I came home yesterday and my whole bedroom was covered in vomit so I test her 466. I have thought about upping her insulin does but that’s just as scary as having high glucose. I got home today and Mao mi had pooped on the floor about 4 or 5 times. She has been receiving her insulin. She went to the litter box and only had to pee a tiny bit so I’m sure she has a UTI.