I am new to Lantus - can 1/2 unit be given with the pens?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by coldenburg, Jun 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coldenburg

coldenburg Member

I have been calling around and the pharmacists I have spoken with do not think that the pens can be adjusted for 1/2 unit. That is what I believe I will be starting with when I switch him over. I have found a pharmacy that will sell me the individual pens and I have spoken with Samsclub as well but I have to call back there tomorrow, but if I can't shoot 1/2 unit this isn't going to work anyway. Are you able to push out some to make it go down to half a unit after its measured up? Its hard for me to know because I have no idea how this works yet. They thought that would be wasteful but it sounds like it still would be more economical than buying the 10 ml bottle.

2. Pandasmom

Pandasmom Member

You can buy the smaller pen vials, but then you give the insulin with a syringe. The top of the vial is smaller, but you can still get the syringe in there and draw out the insulin.

You can get syringes that have half-unit markings, so it's easier to measure out.

Odiesmom

3. LynnLee + Mousie

LynnLee + Mousie Well-Known Member

using the pens as a pen for a cat is a bit of a problem (does it all go in? will kitty sit still for it? etc...)

when using the pens what you do is also get a box of regular insulin syringes (3/10cc, 5/16" needle, with half unit markings) and use the pen like a vial, sticking the syringe in the end of the pen.

the lid or cap comes off the pen just like a pen you write with. that exposes the little cartridge or miniature vial that's in it. then you just insert the syringe in the rubber end just like you do a regular vial of insulin. draw out what you need then re-cap the pen or not, that's up to you. i don't re-cap it actually. i just store mine upright in a cup in the fridge

4. bettyandhank