I'm a newbie again!

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Rob & Harley (GA), Jul 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rob & Harley (GA)

Rob & Harley (GA) Well-Known Member

Hello,

My 14 year old Harley was originally dx 7/9/09, I found this board within a few days. I did some reading but mostly did alot of freaking out and asking questions instead of reading.

We started on Vetsulin. I took the advise here and changed his diet, started home testing, etc. He was on and off of the Vetsulin within 3 weeks until June 2nd this year. I had to go out of town for my job, my cat sitter backed out at the last minute so I had to board him at the clinic. He was so stressed that he stopped eating & pooing but he never stopped hiding. They called me on Friday, June 5th and told me that he wasn't doing well and they tested his bg and he was 450ish. I cancelled the rest of my trip, got in the car and drove straight home and picked him up on Saturday.

I firmly believed that it would be transient from stress. I started him on Lantus, made an appointment with a new Vet and started a condo in LL.

Because of my job I’m not home to test and shoot on a tight schedule, the stress was getting the best of me and we switched to Prozinc.

It has been a crazy 5 weeks and obviously it isn’t transient.

That is my tale of woe. I’m a newbie again. I was never very experienced at it the first time around and I have a ton of new questions about his SS and why he is bouncing all over the place.

Any advise and help is greatly appreciated in advance.

Peace,
    Robin

2. Nancy and Cody

Nancy and Cody Well-Known Member

Hi Robin,
    welcome to PZI! Were looking forward to seeing you post whenever you can and folks will surely try to help. A good place to start is the stickies. It can give you some good info on onset, duration, nadir.