I'm a newbie and so is my cat, Callie

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Marie, May 20, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marie

Marie New Member

Hi! My name is Marie. Please forgive anything I may say that might not be appropriate, I'm not used to forums and have a lot to learn, I'm sure. I'm so grateful I found this site! I have a diabetic dog, and now a diabetic cat. The dog is doing well, we're past the first year....which was horrendous....and he's now his usual stubborn, joyful self. Callie was just diagnosed two days ago. She's a calico with an attitude....I've heard most of them are. The vet put her on one unit twice a day and M/D wet food. I was worried I wouldn't be able to give her the injection because she usually doesn't like to be messed with very often. But so far no problems. My main worry is the cost of the ProZinc. The vet charges $192 for the insulin, $49 for the needles and disposal container. I think that's unbelievable!...... and I've been looking for a substitute or ProZinc at a cheaper price. Good Grief! Sam's insulin is $24.88 and his needles are $12.98 and he's a 55 pound dog....Callie is about 10 pounds. I will have a difficult time with these costs because my funds are limited, I'm 70 and on social security. Does anyone have any ideas, or has anyone found ProZinc cheaper? I haven't read through all the posts yet so I'm sorry if I'm asking a question that's already been answered. Marie

2. Becky & Baby Girl GA

Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member