I'm a newbie.. Please help..

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Lauren&Tommy (GA), Dec 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Lauren&Tommy (GA) Well-Known Member

Please accept my apologies if i'm posting in the wrong place... My Tommy was diagnosed a few weeks ago with diabetes.. I thought he might have UTI.. took a sample of his urine in.. He does not like the Vet.. He did indeed have UTI.. was put on antibiotics for 2 weeks.. They found blood in his urine and said .I took him in for a BG curve for the whole day so they could monitor him.. His starting point was 568..I was initially told to give him 3U twice a day at 12hr intervals. He has not been back to the vet since..(Cost, Stress on Tommy and My vet believes 100% in Hills w/d.. After much research on the internet.. I do not believe the same as he does.. I am currently searching for a new vet.. one with more of an open mind to other options and who will work with me and not tell me it's this way or no way..Tommy is 14.. weighs 13 1/2 lbs.. Again after much research I have found this wonderful forum with people who love their pets as much as i do.. I bought a glucometer on Dec. 7th.. have been testing at least 3 times a day..
    Here is my problem in a nutshell..
    He is hungry all the time.. I am feeding him 3x a day at 3oz of wet low carb high protein food.. He was a "dry only" cat food eater for all of his life.. I understand to test before the insulin shot, but is it ok to test him immediately after he eats.. His afternoon numbers have been 151,90 and 68 so far.. all tests taken immediately after he ate and around 3pm.. and 5 1/2 to 6hrs after his morning insulin shot (humulin)..
    I have been adjusting the insulin according to the readings i get..
    Any advice would be very much appreciated..
    Tommy and I thank you!
    Lauren B

2. Jen & Squeak

Jen & Squeak Well-Known Member

Oh wow! Where to start?