I'm a Newbie

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Opus, Mar 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Opus

Opus New Member

Hello All! I'm relatively (2 wks now) new at this. When does the anxiety and worry finally get better? Dealing with the unknowns are the worst. I have a number of questions and concerns and am looking forward to the support all of you seem to generate. My Chloe is 12 years old and a wee little girl. I would have expected a diabetes diagnosis for her brother, Charlie, and not her. He's a big boy at 20 pounds; Chloe is under 6 pounds. Oh my....

2. Lisa and Witn (GA)

Lisa and Witn (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome to FDMB.

When we receive a diagnosis of feline diabetes it is often scary and overwhelming. But I want to assure you that FD is something that can be very managable with the proper diet, hometesting and insulin. Can you tell us more about Chloe?

What are you feeding her and Charlie?
    Have you started Chloe on insulin yet? If so, which insulin and what dose?
    Are you hometesting yet or want to learn?

A good diet is a low carb/high protein canned or raw food diet. You do not need to feed prescription food. Much of it is high in carbs and most cats stop eating it anyway. You also want to begin working towards removing any dry food from their diets. Both Chloe and Charlie will benefit from the same diet. Many of us feed our cats Fancy Feast or Friskies canned foods. The pate flavors are lower in carbs. You want to try to avoid any canned foods with gravy. By having both cats on the same low carb/high protein diet, it will make it easier to manage Chloe's diabetes and reduce the chance of Charlie developing it. However, if you are currently feeding dry, please tell us what insulin and dose are you using before you remove it from their diet. A diet change can easily drop a cat's glucose levels. You may also need to reduce your insulin dose to otherwise you risk hypoglycemia.