Im new at this- my cat diagnosed with diabetes today

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Jamie & Jupiter, Mar 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jamie & Jupiter

Jamie & Jupiter Well-Known Member

My cat "Jupiter" was just diagnosed with diabetes today. I was concerned as he was drinking water very excessively. I looked it up last night and as I read about what could be wrong with him I just cried. I knew something was wrong. I took him to the vet today and they did blood tests and diagnosed him with diabetes. It breaks my heart and I am very scared to give him the insulin shots. I know I can do it because I want to help him but this all seems overwhelming. I'm really new to this and don't usually post on forums and things like that so I am not really sure what to even say. I just feel overwhelmed and I worry that I wont be able to tell if something is wrong with him. I worry that my family will criticize me for my decision to do whatever I can to help them, as they know I was already struggling financially before this. I love my cat so much and will do anything to help him, but they don't seem to understand that. If anyone has any comments or advice or tips.. I would greatly appreciate it.

2. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

It does seem overwhelming at first. We all felt that way in our first post. But we will help you learn about diabetes and the more you learn, the more confident you will feel.

We have a protocol that has helped many cats to regulation and sometimes remission. We feed wet low carb food, give insulin in doses determined by testing at home. I'd suggest you start on the index page and read the threads on nutrition and health and the FAQs. Ask lots of questions.

What kind of insulin? What dose? What are you feeding right now?

Let us know we can help. You can do this; we'll be your support group.

3. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member