i'm new here- increase dose????

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by dollsinmyeyes, Jan 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dollsinmyeyes

dollsinmyeyes Member

Hey I'm a 26 year old nurse, with a newly diabetic cat.

The vet prescribed 4 units of lantus BID, and after last weeks fructosamine level of 678, told me to start gradually increasing Satan's insulin by one unit every few days, and to do urine ketone tests to judge if it needed to be increased. I than asked if it would be okay to do blood testing. (AND I AM SO GLAD I DID)

Last night was our first adventure in blood glucose testing on the cat. I managed to get a sample last night, and one this morning. THE NUMBERS CONFUSE ME
    last night his blood sugar read out as 42, I'm hoping i got a low test value because the strip was out for a long time, I know as a nurse in people if hte strip is out too long, it's not good anymore and reads low. So I fed him his meal, 1/3rd of a can of DM, and some saucy stuff to get him to eat it. and than attempted a few more times to get him to let me check his blood sugar, but poor kitty thinks i'm trying to kill him and doesn't want to come out of the bed except to cry for food.
    2 hours later i gave him 2 units of lantus, and left dry food out, went to bed, kitty slept on the foot of the bed fine all night.

this morning at 6am his blood glucose was 102, so i'm going to hold his insulin, because i have to go out till 11-12am. bc i have a drs appointment.

any advice on what to do would be great. the vet was clearly not quite right in the just increase his insulin levels more if his bs is in the 40s, or even 100, at meal times. i don't want to kill my cat. I am so glad to have found this message board

thanks

-melissa and satan

2. Ann & Scatcats

Ann & Scatcats Well-Known Member

Re: i'm new here and i could use some help.

Hi

You did the right thing of not giving him 4 Units of Lantus.