I'm really frustrated and don't know what to do....

Status
Not open for further replies.

heyhollis

Member Since 2015
I have decided to increase Jai Jai's dose to 1.5 u from this evening (See yesterday's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...increased-dose-bg-in-red.143098/#post-1483172). He had consistent high BGs and I even got up at 4:30am last night to check on him at PM +9. I have gathered data to make the decision, but his body just told me the opposite

PMPS 335
+3: 47 (!!!!!!!)

I really don't know how to manage Jai Jai 's diabetes. I nearly collapse and everything is not understandable to me.

I do know what to do right now, but I just don't understand. I really don't.................
 
Last edited:
Hi Hollis,

I've just seen Jai Jai's numbers. Have you given him any honey/karo? If he's not already back up above 50 on your human meter you need to raise his numbers NOW.

.
 
Phew!

How is Jai Jai behaving? And how long is it since you gave insulin. Please answer quickly because I need to get an idea of exactly how things are with you at the moment.

.
 
URGENT ANSWER NEEDED:

Exactly how long ago did you give the food and honey? Was it after I asked you to or before that? What is the most recent BG test and exactly how long ago did you take it?
 
Phew!

How is Jai Jai behaving? And how long is it since you gave insulin. Please answer quickly because I need to get an idea of exactly how things are with you at the moment.

.

He acts normal like he usually does. Nothing special, he shows no symptoms of hypo, like previously did.
 
URGENT ANSWER NEEDED:

Exactly how long ago did you give the food and honey? Was it after I asked you to or before that? What is the most recent BG test and exactly how long ago did you take it?

I gave him the food after the +3. I gave him 40g of food and he ate it all up. I then gave him some honey at around +3.75 or sth.
 
He's very low, and he's hiding at the moment. I'm worried about him. It's difficult being half a world away and trying to help. The more info I have about how you two are fixed, the better suggestions I can make to help.

Before you reply can you test Jai Jai straight away to see what his BG level is at now, please?

.
 
Hollis, I completely missed the 47 at +3. That is a dangerously low number early in the cycle with a long lasting insulin. I am with Mogs. Go To the vet. His blood glucose need to be raised now and honey may not do it. He may need an infusion of glucose which the vet can give. If you have someone who can go with you, have them put some honey on his gums as you drive.
 
Unfortunately, I am leaving the house right now and can't stay on. (Going to the airport) You are doing great, Mogs, but I really think that low a number this early in the cycle is too much to try to deal with at home and agree with going to the vet.
 
I appreciate your coming to look at the situation quickly, Sue, because of the numbers in the 20s and the earliness in the cycle. I feel that the vet is needed here. I'll continue here and put a shout out on L & L if needed. Have a safe trip, and thank you again.

.
 
He's very low, and he's hiding at the moment. I'm worried about him. It's difficult being half a world away and trying to help. The more info I have about how you two are fixed, the better suggestions I can make to help.

Before you reply can you test Jai Jai straight away to see what his BG level is at now, please?

.

Hi, Mogs. I understand that you can only judge based on the information I gave. It is difficult and it can go wrong if the data provider (that is me) made a wrong observation.

I would like to clarify that he is not really hiding, he went to the litter box pretending he wanted a pee but he actually did not.

His BG went slowly upwards right now. I know, it may not be the speed you are expecting, but it is way up.

Last time when I caught his hypo, it took me 2.5 hours to see his BGs back to 50mg.

Yes, I am scared, I was crying and am still very frustrated with the situation. I am also unable to understand why this is happening with the dose increase to 1.5.
 
Hollis, are you able to travel to the vets? You will need to keep rubbing honey on Jai Jai's gums while you're travelling. If yes, how long will it take you to get there?

.
 
Hollis, are you able to travel to the vets? You will need to keep rubbing honey on Jai Jai's gums while you're travelling. If yes, how long will it take you to get there?

.

It will be 20 minutes drive, but the first thing I need to call a cab.
 
Call the cab to come ASAP. Ask them how long they'll take to get to you.

If you need to call the emergency vet to let them know you're coming in do that next.

Then rub a little more honey on Jai Jai's gums.

Then get his pet carrier and honey ready for travel and test him again.

Post the test results when you get them, please.

.
 
Call the cab to come ASAP. Ask them how long they'll take to get to you.

If you need to call the emergency vet to let them know you're coming in do that next.

Then rub a little more honey on Jai Jai's gums.

Then get his pet carrier and honey ready for travel and test him again.

Post the test results when you get them, please.

.

I am now in a taxi, and am heading to the 24-hour vet. Will keep u posted.
 
Fantastic, Hollis. The vet is definitely the best place to be at the moment. :)

Keep smearing honey on Jai Jai's gums till the vet gets to see him.

Please let us know how things go later as and when you can. I will keep an eye out for updates.

.
 
Thank you for coming over, Elise. I'm very relieved that Hollis and Jai Jai are en route to the vets now.


(Boy, do I need the bathroom ... :oops:)
.
I hear you. He needs to post on the lantus forum. It's cleaning day here so I didn't see this until he had already left. You did a great job. I hope a glucose drip brings him right up.
 
Hey, I'm here waiting for the vet. He is in an operation and the vet assistant came and asked and took a look at Jai Jai's spreadsheet.

Taking the opportunity of having some attention around....did I make a wrong decision to increase Jai Jai's dose? I spot checked him last night and I think his nadirs were consistently above 300.
 
Hey, I'm here waiting for the vet. He is in an operation and the vet assistant came and asked and took a look at Jai Jai's spreadsheet.

Taking the opportunity of having some attention around....did I make a wrong decision to increase Jai Jai's dose? I spot checked him last night and I think his nadirs were consistently above 300.
I don't give dosing advice but looking at the numbers I might have raised him as well. Did you give food and honey when he dropped? Did you test every 20 minutes and give more? I would document on your ss exactly what was done for the next time he drops. I would also check the BG and if still under 30 ask if he need a glucose drip. If over 40 I would feed. If they took Jai Jai to the back then I'd ask what they are doing.
 
Hi Hollis,

Thanks for keeping us posted. Glad to hear you got safely to the vets.

Elise has given you some very helpful advice above.

.
 
I don't give dosing advice but looking at the numbers I might have raised him as well. Did you give food and honey when he dropped? Did you test every 20 minutes and give more? I would document on your ss exactly what was done for the next time he drops. I would also check the BG and if still under 30 ask if he need a glucose drip. If over 40 I would feed. If they took Jai Jai to the back then I'd ask what they are doing.

Yes, I fed him some food and gave honey when I found that he was hypo.

I checked on him for every 20 to 30 minutes.

My vet was very upset about our changing of Jai Jai's dose. She suggested hospitalizing Jai Jai for one night and meeting the vet in the afternoon. I am expecting that we will have another encounter tomorrow when we see her.
 
It's the only upside of having PTSD. ;) I've also got a real soft spot for little Jai Jai and his mom. :)

.

Thank u for your dedicated support. At the vet, Jai Jai has 2.4 mmol (around 40ish). If you did not suggest visiting the vet, we were at home monitoring him that might cause a big trouble then.
 
Have they put him on an IV glucose drip or are they just feeding and more monitoring ? He will likely be more sensitive to insulin now.

We don't know how they will react. Each cycle is a new potential change. You didn't do anything wrong and you got him to the ER when needed because you were monitoring. Don't blame yourself.
 
Hi Hollis,

I know how much you love little Jai Jai. I'm not much help, but any little thing I can do to help you I do gladly. :)

As Elise says above, there is no way of guaranteeing what will happen in any given cycle. Because you were home testing you were able to catch the low number and get Jai Jai to the vets for help.:bighug:

I'm glad that they have checked Jai Jai's BG. Have they given you an outline of his treatment plan?
.
 
Have they put him on an IV glucose drip or are they just feeding and more monitoring ? He will likely be more sensitive to insulin now.

We don't know how they will react. Each cycle is a new potential change. You didn't do anything wrong and you got him to the ER when needed because you were monitoring. Don't blame yourself.

Yes, Jai Jai is now hospitalized, and should be on glucose drip. I am already back to home with my hubby....Jai Jai is not around and I am so worried about him.

I cannot get over it right now. It's been too much recently......
 
Hi Hollis,

As Elise suggests, try to get some rest while the vets get Jai Jai nice and stable. Even if you find it difficult to sleep while your baby's in hospital, just lying down and trying to rest your eyes will help you.

Perhaps tomorrow when you've recovered a bit you can let us know what additional support we might be able to give you so that you might feel less overwhelmed with everything. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Sending blessings to you and your hubby and some special stabilizing, soothing vibes for Jai Jai. Will keep an eye out for updates from you on his progress.



Mogs
.
 
Oh my goodness, Hollis! I just now saw this thread! I'm so glad others were around to help. Is the vet going to call you with updates? I know that you are trying to get some sleep, which I totally understand. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi, @tiffmaxee , @Critter Mom , and @Shiloh & Rhonda . First thing first, congratulations to Shiloh for OTJ!!! I am so happy for you, Rhonda.

I was very tired and I had slept for four hours. Don't worry about me, I'm OK.

My hubby has just traveled to the clinic to get Jai Jai food and insulin........we did bring nothing with us last night. He has just told me that Jai Jai was 250ish at 4am. No seizure.

I have done some search but I cannot find any information on why Jai Jai's BG was not brought up even food and honey were given. Can anyone kindly tell me why? Is his liver shutting down? What other possible cause of this circumstance?

Under this situation, is TR not fit for Jai Jai? Should I go for SLGS? Sorry that I need to figure out my next step because the incident hit me so hard, and I do not have much idea on why the things happened.

Although your help is always there, I lost my faith to move on. I understand you want to post my dose question on L&L to get support from experienced ones. Please understand I do not have much time to manage the threads day by day. For me, L&L looks like a "progress report" type of community. This is just not for me at the moment.....(don't get me wrong, I am not complaining about it, it is just not the time)
 
Hollis, please don't lose faith! L & L can be kind of overwhelming. Others have told me that too. The only reason we suggest posting there is to get the most eyes possible on Jai Jai's situation. We aren't asking for day by day posts. But if you have questions, that might be the best place to post, to make sure you get the most experienced response.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top