Impossible!!!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Richard P, Mar 18, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Richard P

Richard P Member

I don’t know what kinds of cats everybody has but testing my boy Big is IMPOSSIBLE! I tried both ears with a 26 gauge lansit. I followed the videos. I rubbed his ear, I did it on the top and bottom of them. NOTHING! My vet did the paw and it was a geyser! I’m certain I couldn’t do that. Had hard enough time with the ear. Not sure if I’m looking for help at this point or just venting. To make matters worse I went through the skin and screwed up today’s shot and he’s so stressed he won’t eat. He hid for over an hour when I walked in from work. This is my life. Trying to help a cat that doesn’t want to be helped. Even tested the stupid meter on myself. Uugggh!

JoyBee&Ravan likes this.
  2. Bellasmom

Bellasmom Well-Known Member

3. JeffJ

JeffJ Well-Known Member

I have been testing for almost 4 years. An important component is to stay calm, or at least act calm. Even when I miss on the first attempt, I always tell Leo he is being a good boy (because he is a good boy). If I miss after 3 times, then we both get a break.

Some tips:
    1) make sure the ear is warm, this is real important
    I usually make one hand real warm under almost hot water, then I warm up Leo's ear.

2) massage that ear
    Push the blood up into the ear

3) We use a lancing device, and we make sure it is ready and cocked
    This lets us get right on the spo

4) Use a folder paper towel backer on the back side of the ear
    This helps the ear stay flat for the poke.

5) Poke 1/8" away from the edge of the upper ear

4. JeffJ

JeffJ Well-Known Member

This is a pretty new thread on the topic
    link here

JoyBee&Ravan likes this.
  5. Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi Richard,