In Remission??????? My nam

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Angela C Wright, Jan 13, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Angela C Wright

Angela C Wright New Member

01/13/2020. Hello. My name is Angela C. Wright. My cat RODNEY had been diagnosed DIABETIC on
    12/12/19. He was started on VETSULIN @ 1st on 12/12/19. 2 Units 1x per day. Then
    3Units 1x per day. I switched Vets for lack of concern from diagnosing vet. New VET says VETSULIN only lasts 12 hours and almost always requires 2 doses per day.
    New dosage:
    3 units VETSULIN
    EVERY 12 HOURS
    WITH FOOD.
    (2X PER DAY)

I took RODNEY in today because he has not let me give him his shot since
    Thursday (01/09/2020). But has not been showing any CLINICAL SIGNS(excessive thirst and urination). So I took a dose with me to VET So they could help me and show me how to do his shot since I am new at this. So. I asked them to check his BG before we gave him his shot. BG was 234, and he had not had a shot in 3 days. Upon original diagnosis. RODNEY WAS SWITCHED FROM A COMPLETELY DRY DIET(KIT N KABOODLE) TO A COMPLETELY WET DIET (FANCY FEAST CLASSIC PATE). THE VET SENT US BACK HOME WITH THE DOSE OF INSULINE SAYING THAT THE CHANGE IN FOOD MAY HAVE MADE THE DIFFERENCE. I HAVE INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO TO MONITOR HIS WATER INTAKE OVER THE NEXT FEW DAYS . HE IS SCHEDULED FOR A GLUCOSE CURVE ON JAN. 24TH. IT IS NOW ON HOLD PENDING MONITORING OF WATER INTAKE. IF HE DRINKS 1/2 TO 1 CUP PER 24 HRS. THAT IS NORMAL FOR A CAT HIS WEIGHT ON A WET DIET. HE MAY NOT B DIABETIC. INITIAL #S MAY HAVE BEEN DUE TO HIGH CARB DIET OF DRY FOOD. WE WILL C. WILL POST UPDATES. THANK YOU.

2. Juls and Billy

Juls and Billy Member

Hello Angela and Rodney!