Increase from 1unit 2x a day to 2units 2x a day

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Christalena, Mar 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Christalena

Christalena New Member

hey all!

It’s been a while but my Freddie is diabetic again with his numbers between 350-400.

I’ve been told to dose 1unit 2x a day but that only brought him from 450 to 350ish after two weeks. The vet told me to bump to 2units twice a day now and that seems like a steel bump and I’m afraid it’ll spike or do something bad to his system! Any thought? I’m currently using the Lantus pen with the pen caps so it’s only options on the pen are full units.
    Should I ignore the vet and do a smaller increase?

I also did a curve at home and it was steady between 350-380 over 12 hrs.
    I also currently feed him one can of Nulo/wellness pate twice a day and he’s still super skinny.

Thanks all!

2. MyTitan (GA)

MyTitan (GA) Well-Known Member

I'm not an expert and hopefully more will chime in but 1 unit increases are way too much on either protocol. Read the TR and the SLGS instructions. If I remember at the small doses 1/4 or 1/2 increases and hold those. TR for least 6 cycles and SLGS for a week. Good luck.

3. Juliet

Juliet Guest

@MyTitan is correct. 1u increase is too much.

4. saltycat

saltycat Well-Known Member

The TR / SLGS stickies at the top of the forum are very helpful. I use to reference them often.

1u is double the insulin, too big of a jump. When increasing too fast, you can skip over the "right" dose and end up in a rollercoaster ride of numbers going from too low to too high as well as a possible hypo situation. SLow and steady increases reduce the change of a hypoglycemic event and let you find that right dose while allowing the kitty to get used to the lower numbers.

The handling and shooting fine doses is helpful for those 1/4u and smaller amounts. 1.25u can he hard to measure at first.