Insulin/Food Change and Bathroom Issues?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Cheryl67, Apr 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cheryl67

Cheryl67 New Member

Hi all - I'm new to this situation and would appreciate any information you can provide. My 15-yr old cat, SweetPea, was diagnosed with diabetes a month ago. She's on one unit of insulin (PZI Wedgewood) twice a day, but after about a week, she started having really soft poop (like pudding - sorry to be so descriptive!). She also pooped on my husband's clothes for the first time EVER. Now we're having a problem with her continuing to pee where she pooped (instead of in her litterbox). She's never in all her life missed the litterbox, and suddenly over the past couple of weeks, she's repeatedly peeing elsewhere. As far as the poop, she's pooping outside her litterbox (which is in the basement). She actually has two separate litterboxes, and they both are cleaned regularly. Can this sudden change in habit have anything to do with a) the insulin; or b) the change in her dry food to DM? She still gets her 9 Lives canned food (as she has her whole life) at dinner, but I did change to the DM dry food in the morning and as a little "extra" to her canned dinner per my vet's advice. My husband is really upset and having his clothes used on an ongoing basis as an alternate litter box and I'm desperately trying to see if anyone else has run into this shortly after a diabetes diagnosis. (Not sure if this matters, but her glucose level was 322 originally and it's come down to 219 over a 3-week period.) Any thoughts would be welcome. Thank you so much!

2. Kelly & Oscar

Kelly & Oscar Well-Known Member