Insulin help I'll be gone during her normal insulin times TOMORROW

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Lauren Cox, May 30, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lauren Cox

Lauren Cox Member

Hi advice on what to do tomorrow. I'll be out of town tomorrow (leaving an hour and 20 minutes before Izzys normal insulin dose of 1.5 prozinc @8am) Should I still give her insulin after I test her preshot and feed her as long as her numbers are in upper 300-400s?

Also won't be home until 15 hours later. Should I skip her 8PM dose and get back on track at 8am the following morning? I feel so guilty.... This is my first time since January that I won't be home around her normal insulin times.

Thanks!

2. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

Is there anyone else who can give her the shot while you're gone? So if I'm understanding that correctly, you'd be missing both doses?

3. Lauren Cox

Lauren Cox Member

I have no one this time around to administer her shots for tomorrow. I can certainly give her a shot an hour and 20 minutes before her regular time at 6:40am instead of 8am. But we won't be home until 10 pm. so would you give her pm shot or wait until morning? Thanks I'm not sure what I can do. I've been diligent since February giving her shots 12 hours apart. But tomorrow will be an issue.

4. Djamila