Insulin Resistant.... PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by wyleesmom221, Jan 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wyleesmom221

wyleesmom221 New Member

My Beloved Boy Wylee was diagnosed last April. He is 6 years old & the drinking
    & Urinating was very out of control. I am a vet assistant & felt I picked up on it rather quickly. He is a sweet boy but DOES NOT tolerate his vet visits at all. The first Dr. I work with put him on Glipizide 2X daily- This did nothing. Then he put him on Humulin U100 Insulin - just one unit in the AM & one in the PM. Took him in to work for Fructosamine test & he is at about 700- I tried a different Dr. at work & we increased his dose on the U100 several times- more Fructosamine tests- no change. The last change has been to change him to P
    roZinc U40 Insulin. Yet ANOTHER Fructosamine test - again bad results. I am now at 4 units in the AM & 3 in the PM. No clinical changes. I am feeling very defeated & do not know what to do. The Doctors have sadly not been much help. I have read that there has been success in mixing both a short & long acting insulin. If anyone has any comments & has been through this- I beg you to please share. Thank you!

2. phlika29

phlika29 Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome to you and wylee. May I ask your name ?

I have a few more questions that will help members understand your situation. Does he have any other health issues? What are you feeding him? Do you ever test him at home? Is this something you would consider?

There are plenty of members here with a whole variety of experiences and I am sure we will be able to help you..

3. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member