Introducing Jett - diagnosed today

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by PJ Brown, Jul 6, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PJ Brown

PJ Brown Member

Hi - I am new to this group. My 14.5 y/o precious kitty, Jett, was diagnosed with diabetes this morning. Attached are his blood results. He weighs 13.1 lbs. The vet prescribed 2 units of Lantus insulin twice a day. That seems like a lot to me, but I have no experience with diabetes. Thank you in advance for sharing your experience and helping me get up to speed on what to do and not do. My first hurdle is to give him the 1st shot tonight and try to read all the great information on this forum. I am overwhelmed. Jett Blood Results July 5 2016 pg 1 of 2.png Jett Blood Results July 5 2016 pg 2of2.png

Attached Files:

2. Sharon14

Sharon14 Well-Known Member

Hi PJ, welcome to you and Jett. Sorry for the diagnosis, but you've come to the right place. There are many people here that are knowledgable in all things feline and they will be glad to help you. It is overwhelming at first, but you will get the hang of it. Lantus is a great insulin and is usually started at a dose of 1unit twice/day. Go to the Lantus forum and read the yellow stickies to learn more about how Lantus works and how it is dosed. If you'll begin home testing and set up a spreadsheet, the people on the Lantus board will better be able to help you. In the meantime, ask any questions you have on the Health Forum.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

3. PJ Brown

PJ Brown Member

Thank you, Sharon. Are there videos on giving an insulin shot with a Lantus pen?

4. Sharon14

5. Sharon14

Have you given his shot yet?

6. PJ Brown

PJ Brown Member