Jade 7/8/18 pmps 103.../0.1....doing it

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jill & Jade, Jul 8, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    ***** wish us luck!!!!




    Hi! If I'm following the SLGS method , my understanding is that I do not shoot under 150, is that correct? I have read it several times and I'm fairly certain that that is what it says....I am about to take her amps soon and want to make sure this is correct. Today starts her teeeny dose of .1unit .I skipped yesterday. Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2018
  2. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    I think that's for someone who is just starting out. Now that you have some data, you can shoot anything above 90. I see you have shot 0.5u on a 124. Did you shoot last night? I think you're supposed to give 0.1u as the new dose. :)
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  3. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Hi and Good Morning!! I didn't shoot at all yesterday . Last night when I got home her BG was 156 and I detected some cat food (8% I had left out) on her whiskers and was fairly certain she had had a late snack. So, I didn't really trust the number. And yes!! New dose day!!:)
     
    Mandy & Rex (GA) likes this.
  4. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I do have to leave for a few hours this afternoon tho, and am a bit concerned that if she drops, I won't be here to intervene. Is that even possible with that small of a dose?
     
  5. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    At what + would you leave and return? If she is staying level, then she will be fine. Let's see what she does first.
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    The SLGS section on shooting low numbers has two sections. The first starts "in the beginning", the second part starts "with experience". In that second part, you don't shoot if the preshot number is below 90. A skip with a 78 was the correct thing to do. But you didn't have to give higher carb food, as you didn't shoot insulin. She will be safe today. It's been several cycles since you last shot.

    You might want to look at how to draw a 0.1 unit dose.
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  7. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Gonna go test now...be right back.....
     
  8. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    ok amps is 98 and I gotta say that makes me nervous, should it???
     
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    How long since you last fed higher carb food? If it's within two hours, then that preshot number is influenced (ie. higher) because of the carbs and will come down when the carbs wear off.
     
  10. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Sorry, was looking at yesterday's data on the SS as today's isn'tbthere yet. Ignore the question about food, unless you have fed recently.
     
  11. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Not in the last 2 hours. If she's had anything, it was licking the bottom of the food bowl. ( I wouldn't put it past her) I'm feeling like that's too close to the cut off point for me.
     
  12. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Jade is doing so awesome, and ur a great momma bean! Kudos to you both, I’m so hoping for remission for you guys
     
    LizzieInTexas and Jill & Jade like this.
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    How many hours are you gone, and to reiterate Mandy's question, how many hours after the shot?
     
  14. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    :bighug::joyful:
     
  15. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    About 2 hours and wouldn't leave until after +2
     
  16. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Two options. First is a skip. Second is to wait 20-30 minutes without feeding and see if she comes up to your comfort zone. Being gone from+2-4 when you don't have data on this low a preshot is not a good idea.
     
    Mandy & Rex (GA) and Jill & Jade like this.
  17. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    My gut is telling me to skip. It really is. And thank you. I know my confidence will build! I appreciate the feedback, I'd be lost (and down to just one cat instead of two) without you ladies!!!!! Hopefully this evening she'll be a bit higher OR 90 or below!!
    Happy Sunday!!!!!!
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  18. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Trust your gut. Tonight is another cycle.
     
  19. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I left some 8% out yesterday afternoon because of the long night we had had, I wouldn't have otherwise. Overly cautious, I know. I'll get more sure of myself in time ( I hope!)
     
  20. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I really had to sit here for a few minutes and make sure it was my gut and not being a scaredy cat (pun intended)
    On a side note, Jade is so set in our routine that she let me know that she was ready for her test, food and shoot all on her own!! I love her so much!!
     
  21. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I can’t seem to find the info on how to draw such a small dose....
     
  22. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    There isn't information other than the photo I posted yesterday for shooting small doses. Many of us use digital calipers for dosing in general.
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  23. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I’ll look into that!!
     
  24. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    If you look in the "Where Can I Find..." post, I believe there is a link to the information in there.
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  25. Mandy & Rex (GA)

    Mandy & Rex (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Another way and maybe faster is to find Gordy's condos. Cassie has that link in her signature for calipers. :) @CassAndGordy
     
    Jill & Jade likes this.
  26. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
  27. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    I do! Lol. (It was a pain for me to find at times, so i figured Id help myself out)
     
  28. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Just an FYI, ladies...
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2018
    Reason for edit: fixed link
    Jill & Jade and CassAndGordy(GA) like this.
  29. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
  30. Jill & Jade

    Jill & Jade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Thank Jill!!
     
    Jill & Alex (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page